Skip to content

The Studio is Calling

April 20, 2012

Today I didn’t get to spend much time in the studio. I did work on the two paintings that I showed yesterday, and here they are in their current state.

 

I feel the second one may be finished. I’m not as sure about the first one, though.

 

The Great Dahlia Adventure

I have been digging holes for planting dahlias. I have been obsessed with dahlias for a few years now, but hesitated to have them because of the time and effort I have felt they would require. But I can’t stop myself. I’ve ordered a collection of ten dinnerplate dahlia bulbs, which are now in transit. That means I’ve had to get out there and dig through the hardpan with a pick to make a hole for each bulb, big enough to put plenty of compost and good soil around them. I started as soon as I placed the order two days ago, so I can dig a couple or three holes at a time. I like the exercise, but my back won’t allow me to do too many in one day.

The ones shown here are from several dwarf dahlias that we planted last year in one of the raised garden beds. Since the winter was so warm, they survived without my having to dig up the bulbs. They’re doing well and blooming again.

 

 

I’ve always loved to try growing food — not so much flowers. But I think it was just the lack of courage that kept me from having them. I’ve developed an attitude of doing my best, and not grieving too long if something doesn’t work out. Kind of like painting.

 

 

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    April 21, 2012 2:36 am

    Dahlias are good value, easy care, long blooming, and best of all for me, bees seem to like them. Food and flowers go together if you are thinking of bees. Love your two artworks, very complex.

    • April 21, 2012 2:29 pm

      Sandra, I appreciate the encouragement as I embark on my dahlia adventure. I’m very excited. Bees are always uppermost in my mind, as are all beneficial insects. I try to keep my little ecosystem buzzing. Glad to know that about dahlias. So glad you like the paintings.

  2. brenthebeau permalink
    April 21, 2012 5:51 am

    Wonderful texture and the colour harmony with each of these. So enjoy your work and your blog

  3. sbmacinnis permalink
    April 21, 2012 7:49 am

    These are great. I agree that the second one is finished. I really like the colour. Very strong.

  4. April 21, 2012 9:22 am

    They are special aren’t they? Both grandmothers grew dahlias, one grew dinner plate sizes. Imagine my delight when my wedding florist included them in the church flowers. He had made a visit her garden and they both kept the secret well.

    • April 21, 2012 2:32 pm

      Oh, Annette! That is so sweet. Yes, they are just about the most wonderful flowers I can imagine. I hadn’t been aware of their huge variety of shapes and colors until I visited an amazing dahlia garden several years ago in North Carolina. I’ll never forget them.

  5. patqu permalink
    April 21, 2012 10:11 am

    Hi Martha:
    Love both the dahlia pics and of course the art work! The effort for both is so justified as the outcome is so striking. Is that a crayon, marker, or paint you used to make the black? lines in both pics? Thanks
    patq

    • April 21, 2012 2:35 pm

      Pat, I’m amazed how art and gardening are so similar.

      Glad you like the paintings so far. I like to make marks on top of acrylic with charcoal or a pastel stick. Then if I don’t like it I can easily wipe it off and start again. Once I do like it, I spray it with clear acrylic before adding more paint to the area. This solution was the result of lots of trial and error. Try it!

  6. April 21, 2012 12:09 pm

    Your flowers are gorgeous!!!! I love both collage pieces too. The second one is my favorite.
    Happy weekend!

    • April 21, 2012 2:37 pm

      Thanks Jane! Those dahlias are only about 3″ in diameter. I can’t wait to see the big ones. I guess you and I have similar instincts re the painting. I think I’ll leave it alone now.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

