Skip to content

Three New Collages

April 17, 2012

Today I found some beautiful painted magazine pages and limited my composition to using pieces from just two of those, plus one small jagged piece of hand painted paper. There were so many possibilities within just these painted passages that I could have used them to create any number of compositions.

Sometimes with collage, you have to just cut or tear and begin. I always hate tearing into them, since I always love the sheets just as they are.

In Light and Shadow - Collage,m 5x5"

Tide Pool - Collage, 5x5"

Sunset Beach - Collage, 5x5"

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 6:54 pm

    love these collages – they’ve got a bit textile feel to them too, speshly the first one. Really like these colors too, earthy with a bit spring :D

  2. sandra dorey permalink
    April 18, 2012 2:21 am

    isn’t it great how we can all see different things – they seem watery and stormy to me – which now i come to think of it reflects the weather outside my window!

  3. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    April 18, 2012 2:39 am

    Love these, both the composition and the beautiful colours, earthy, bright and happy. Finally got compositional outline for current project last night, had done two hours work in the class when saw that the shapes just did not balance and one has to be painted out and reversed! Should have seen that sooner. Do you have that happen to you?

    • April 18, 2012 2:15 pm

      Thank you, Sandra. Yes, it happens to me all the time and can be maddening. Sometimes you can’t see it until you’ve already invested the work in it. I’m not quite disciplined enough to try shapes of colored paper taped over an area before putting the paint on, but I’ve seen other artists use that trick.

  4. patqu permalink
    April 18, 2012 9:47 am

    I love these three collages. They speak of the beach, tides, rocks and glistening water. I also hate cutting up paper I have created.

    • April 18, 2012 2:16 pm

      Glad you like these, Pat. I swear it’s the papers I love, and not necessarily the resulting compositions. But still, I guess there has to be some basic structure to call it art.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 572 other followers

