Skip to content

One Way Or the Other

April 16, 2012

One Way Or The Other, Collage, 5.5x5.5"

I couldn’t decide which way to turn this collage for the best presentation, so I asked my husband to pick. This is the orientation he chose. Some abstract pieces can be turned more than one way, and others seem to have a distinct top and bottom. This one did have some awkward directions, but then there were two ways that worked. This way, and 180 degrees opposite this.

My big studio table is still out on the screened porch from when we moved it out there for our cookout on Easter Sunday. The weather is still nice and breezy, so today I took my collage papers out there to work. It would be a great place for artmaking even more often, as long as the weather cooperates. I can hear the birds singing and can see my garden from there. Maybe I’ll do the same thing tomorrow.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. wandajaneece permalink
    April 17, 2012 1:13 am

    In design school I was told that if the design is good, then you can turn the piece in any direction and it will continue to not only be good design, but pleasing, interesting, etc. as well. Absolutely true of this piece. I love your work.

  2. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    April 17, 2012 3:11 am

    I like the strong framing effect (sides and bottom) of the orientation your husband chose, works very well. I must say I envy you your infinite creativity, you must have unlimited ideas for beautiful art!

  3. April 17, 2012 9:43 am

    I once had a painting which won awards in as horizontal and as a vertical (not an abstract) I didn’t try my luck on a 3rd orientation! I love it when the piece works in several ways. I like yours with the red side at bottom.

    I love that you are able to work outside. It will be interesting to see what comes into your work with the influence of nature at hand.

    • April 18, 2012 2:12 pm

      Thanks, Annette. I actually liked it with the scribbles on the bottom, but didn’t have a strong preference. Fun stuff! Today is beautiful, but a little chilly for working on the shaded porch. Out in the sun, though, I was able to dig in the garden a little bit.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

