Skip to content

Paintings Ready for a Show

April 12, 2012

These three paintings are ready to go to the annual juried gallery show “Arts Alive” at the Kennedy-Douglass Center for the Arts.

Haiku 78 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

Haiku 80 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

 

Ritual 50 - Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"


 

These didn’t have to be there until the end of next week, but my husband volunteered to deliver them for me, so I wanted to get them ready for him to take at his convenience. Plus he kept reminding me that I needed to go ahead and get the wires on the backs, sign and label them. That is always the hardest – the non-creative part. He’s right. I always procrastinate about that part.

But it’s done now. They are packed and sitting at the front door. Mission accomplished!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 2:32 am

    Beautiful textures Martha! I feel like you when it comes to signing and putting wires – usually I’m doing it the night before the show… I’m a terrible procrastinator when it comes to these things.

    • April 14, 2012 12:57 am

      Thank you, Marie Louise. I try, I really do, to get ahead of these things. But wires and stuff are so boring! 🙂

  2. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    April 13, 2012 2:41 am

    First, second and third (or three first equals)! I do wish you every success in the juried show.
    Have to plan a new painting for class, first idea definitely does not work once I started planning it on paper so back to the drawing board! Think that my second choice might work, now just need to get the background and composition done, we’ll see.

    • April 14, 2012 12:58 am

      Thanks, Sandra! And good luck on our idea. Sometimes we have to get out of the way and let the art tell us what it wants to be!

  3. April 13, 2012 9:42 am

    Wow! Wow! Wow! For each one of the 3! I am particularly drawn to #1 – but, again – magnifico. Have a great weekend.

    • April 14, 2012 12:52 am

      Thanks Shirley! So glad you like them. I hope maybe a judge will too — or better yet, a collector!

    • April 14, 2012 12:58 am

      Thanks so much, Shirley! That means a lot to me. You have a good weekend too!

  4. April 13, 2012 2:08 pm

    Wonderful paintings and I’m sure they’ll do well in the upcoming show! I’m in the same boat right now too, getting paintings ready for shows, ugh. Procrastination is my frenemy too. LOL

    • April 14, 2012 12:51 am

      Thanks, Nicole! Glad you like them. It’s good to know I’m not alone with the procrastination.

  5. April 13, 2012 7:42 pm

    Such thought-provoking paintings; the texture looks fantastic and I bet they feel fantastic too! Best of luck on the art show! 🙂

    CarrieLynn

    http://clgmusings.wordpress.com/

  6. April 15, 2012 1:55 am

    Beautiful work, Martha! Good luck at the show. ;0)

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

