Skip to content

House Guests Are Gone

April 10, 2012

Aren’t there always mixed emotions when house guests leave?  The same applies here. We love our children and are always thrilled to see them. I truly appreciate the time they take out of their busy schedules, or their valuable vacation time, to be here rather than somewhere else. It’s always fun, and we gather extended family and friends to celebrate their  visit.

But let’s get real. I’m not as young as I used to be. This is not complaining — please, if you’re one of my children reading this, believe me when I say this. It’s just the way life works when you are no longer . . . young. There is the full week of getting the house ready, then the week of the visit, then the week after the visit to recover. (Please someone tell me I’m not alone in this!)

So now I’m in the recovery stage. It was fun. We had a big Easter Sunday cookout at our house, and that involved preparation of its own. But we’re not the tightly wound type, so things are pretty casual here. Everyone seemed to have a wonderful time.

And then there was the dog. My son’s new little dog — a rescue from a horrible situation to a very spoiled life, for which I’m really happy. I’m proud of my son for taking on the responsibility. That little dog was so entertaining, never mind that he totally traumatized our old kitty, who is skittish to begin with, and who steered clear of him for the whole week. My 2 dogs were’nt too crazy about his antics either, or that he chewed up their squeaky toys.

This is Bogie, one day when his Dad went out shopping. I puppy sat, and Bogie waited inside his Dad’s suitcase.

I ended up moving Blueberry the kitty into our bedroom behind closed doors, because that pup was obsessed with finding her. Every time we would forget to shut the door, he bounded in there to chase her under the bed. So there was that too. Bringing her food dish and water into our room each day, cleaning out her litter box even more regularly than normal, and taking her out to the screened porch in the wee hours each morning so she could feel like a normal cat, became daily routine. She was not pleased. She is still very circumspect around the house.

So now it’s quiet. All I have now is a sore throat that my son brought me. Sorry, son – I do have to blame this on you. It’s all your fault. But I do hope you are feeling better by now and have made it home safe and sound. I’ll be OK in a few days.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. computertextiledesigngroup permalink
    April 10, 2012 6:02 pm

    Sounds like your house is pretty much like ours on such occasions! I was lucky though I didn’t have to do the work this time . It;s fun though isn’t it?
    Dorothy

    • April 11, 2012 6:21 am

      It is fun, Dorothy – even when it’s exhausting. But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

  2. wandajaneece permalink
    April 10, 2012 6:44 pm

    Oh my gosh! You are so not alone. We absolutely adore our two adult daughters, son-in-law and grandsons, but the energy issue is a big one as we get older. Our girls even help cook and clean up and everything. It is just that we have gotten so used to the quiet! So far, we haven’t had an alien pet invasion, so our almost 15 year old border collie mix just sleeps even more than normal to avoid it all. I love the puppie in the suitcase! He reminds me of a puppie we rescued years ago who was half pekinese and half beagle. Her name was Pookie the pekibeagle. I love your sight! Thanks for sharing all your successes, techniques, redos. I am in the process of moving but hope to get my blog on a better routine once the studio is set up.

    • April 11, 2012 6:23 am

      Wandajaneece, I really appreciate your taking the time to stop and comment. I hope to see you blogging soon! Thanks for the empathy too!

  3. April 10, 2012 6:48 pm

    You are not alone. I understand COMPLETELY. I have two undisciplined grandsons who have in the past, turned the fridge off, removed the knobs from my antique sideboard, tormented the dog, had a temper trantrum because I insisted than hands be washed before dinner, and think my upright piano is a toy. Let us not talk of table manners, things that get flushed or left behind near, but not in the green bin. We’ve earned our peace. Enjoy it.

    • April 11, 2012 6:25 am

      Oh my, Lottie! That brings back memories. Our grandkids are grown now, except for one who is three. She’s just a joy, being the newest member of the family and after such a long wait. But now she is expecting a little brother in June. Let the games begin! 🙂

  4. Polly Cross permalink
    April 10, 2012 7:29 pm

    We’re in the same visit from children boat. I suppose we know something happened during their visit since we are so pooped when it’s all over. I’ll bet you’re already planning what you’ll cook and do the next time they visit.

    • April 11, 2012 6:26 am

      You’re right, Polly! That’s pretty much what I’m doing. There are no scheduled visits at the moment, but we are always ready for a party.

  5. April 10, 2012 9:19 pm

    Please know you are not alone….I love putting in the time but every visit it takes me longer to regain my stability and routine strength. I do have to say I love Boogie in the suitcase. Rest and regain your vitality to return to your processes! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • April 11, 2012 6:28 am

      Mary Helen, I am doing just that. Yesterday (the day of this post) was a day off for me. Truthfully, Monday was too. I’ve been rather zombie-like. But this morning I’m feeling more normal, like the rhythm of my days is returning. Life is good.

  6. April 10, 2012 9:21 pm

    I admire you for undertaking all that post implies! 🙂 Rest well as long as you need to; there’s always paint in the studio to help you with your re-entry into normalcy.

    • April 11, 2012 6:28 am

      DJ, I just might haul out the paints today. Two days off have been sooooo nice!

      • April 11, 2012 9:44 pm

        And those two days off are well-deserved! Please let us know what juiciness you’re working on in the studio; I can always depend upon you to motivate me to get up off my tucas and head for the easel. hugs ~

      • April 14, 2012 12:55 am

        I will, DJ! Today was another day off from blogging, but busy in the studio! I promise to show and tell soon!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

