Skip to content

Art Has a Life of its Own

April 6, 2012

I kind of hate this. It seems to be a pattern for me: I have no idea set in stone for a series of paintings, but they seem to happen in spite of me. I have no plans for where they will live after they’re created — not even space to hang them, nor a gallery to take them. But they happen anyway.

I do have a rule, which is that a piece must fit into a body of work. I had my doubts about the two smaller pieces shown here, because of their subdued color. But I believe the texture allows them a place with the rest of these, having seen them all together for the first time.

Right now there is no urgency to get out there and market my new work. There’s just the time and space, for the first time ever really, to create and to think about the next painting. I’ve found several large canvases that once had a previous life and are ready for renewal, and a series is born, one painting at a time.

Much of my time in the past had been spent on marketing and reaching out to galleries and doing shows. Not so much now. But still, a painter must paint.

Who knows where it will all lead? Does it matter after all?

Note:  These paintings are from 16×20 inches to 30×30 inches. Please let me know if you have questions about a specific piece.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. computertextiledesigngroup permalink
    April 6, 2012 4:12 pm

    I love the look of this collection. I like the variety of both colour and size… just wish I had made them! 🙂

  2. computertextiledesigngroup permalink
    April 6, 2012 4:14 pm

    Sorry Martha my message seems to have come up as from the CTDG instead of my own name Dorothy Gibbs.Whilst I am a meber of the CTDG this comment is a personal one.
    Dorothy

  3. April 6, 2012 7:57 pm

    Great set of paintings, I especially love the subdued ones.

    • April 7, 2012 8:21 am

      Thanks, Kathryn. Looking through recent comments, those seem to be the ones mentioned the most. Thanks for letting me know which ones you like best.

  4. April 6, 2012 8:19 pm

    I completely relate to this – art comes at its own time and place, when this fits in with life, its magical! 🙂

    • April 7, 2012 8:23 am

      Yes! That’s exactly how it works, isn’t it? Slowly but surely, I think the fitting in with life part is starting to happen.

  5. April 7, 2012 6:38 am

    Martha dear … I always look at your posts. To me the two smaller painting here are definitely the best …. ! Of course, my opinion is not to be taken as significant!

    I envy you because you are making art daily and keeping your artistic juices flowing, whereas I’m bogged down and stultifying slowly!

    So keep up the good work and don’t knock it! Not every piece is going to be quite what you wanted but, ‘Hey’, some are going to be really good …………………

    • April 7, 2012 8:19 am

      Lesly, your feedback is always valued! Thank you. I hope you can get back to the regular studio routine sometime soon.

  6. April 7, 2012 3:45 pm

    Normal service will shortly be resumed! In the meantime, here’s a quick pop in. You always inspire me, and today is no exception. Thanks for sharing, Martha

    • April 8, 2012 9:07 am

      Myfanwy, thanks for popping in. Hope to see more of you soon! Hope all is well with you.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

