Skip to content

Session Four, Work in Progress

April 5, 2012

Or whatever session it is, who’s counting? Anyway, I wanted to show this updated image of the painting I’m working on. I truly feel it may be finished. I like the way the colors interact. It doesn’t have a final clear coat yet, which will further accentuate the color contrasts, but the picture gives you a pretty good idea of where it is.

The prior stage . . .

WIP, Acrylic on canvas, 30x30"

And the painting today, photographed in bright daylight, which also changes the colors some. But I have added a lot of broken layers of color, letting some of the underlying color show through.

WIP, 040512 - Mixed Media on Canvas, 30x30"

We still have our son here, so I’m sneaking moments in the studio when nobody will miss me. It doesn’t allow for long, thoughtful painting sessions, but I’ll take what I can get.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 5:48 am

    Martha those blues bottom left are drop dead gorgeous. I’ll never fully understand the way you get those soft broken layers, and isn’t that the magic of art.

    • April 6, 2012 2:55 pm

      Oh thanks, Cath! I love “broken” layers of color that reveal some of the colors underneath. One good way to achieve this is to apply a thin coat and then spray water on it and let it lie flat to move around as it dries. Another way is to let a coat of paint dry partially and then rub (or blot) some of it off with a wet paper towel.

      • April 6, 2012 4:36 pm

        I do something but with quite different results. I love that the hand of the maker matters so much. I love your art, and have a few pieces, but could never make it (not that I would, but you know what I mean). We put so much of ourselves into what we do.

      • April 6, 2012 5:31 pm

        I love that about art and artists too, Cath. I have to say that almost every piece of art in my collection is there because I know something about the artist on a personal level, and that makes it all the more special to me. (Yours included!)

  2. Beth permalink
    April 6, 2012 9:16 am

    I have loved seeing this painting evolve. I agree with Martha, the blues are gorgeous, and the rest too. I want to live in this world you have created. Dreamy landscape of the heart.

  3. April 6, 2012 10:37 am

    Hi Martha:

    I love this painting with its vibrancy, color and textures. How did you achieve the texture? Tissue?
    Visiting with your son and sneaking in some painting sounds familiar. 🙂
    One of my sons, as I write, is winding his way back to California to live. It is just so far from New England. The other one is talking of settling in the Carolinas in a few years.
    Patq

    • April 6, 2012 2:56 pm

      Pat, this is the first time we’ve seen this son in almost 2 years. So naturally I’m treating this as a vacation week. We’re doing a lot of talking and eating! 😉

      So glad you like the painting!

    • April 6, 2012 3:56 pm

      Pat, I apologize for forgetting your question in the last comment. Yes, a lot of this is tissue, but there are also some paint skins and some textural gels.

  4. April 6, 2012 11:13 am

    Oooh, Martha, I hope you have not tinkered with this beauty! TaDa! C’est fini!!!! Bella! Bella!

    • April 6, 2012 3:01 pm

      Thank you for that, Annette! No I don’t plan to tinker with it at all. The only thing I’ll be doing is putting a nice thick coat of clear gel over it to bounce the colors around.

  5. April 6, 2012 9:31 pm

    Martha – absolutely love the last piece in today’s blog – breath taking!
    I understand what you are saying – about not so much into the marketing, and such but into your work. I cancelled a large solo that I have done for the past 4 years – and it is lovely in every way – but, I needed time to really be into my art and let me become it and it become me……a good feeling.

    • April 7, 2012 8:23 am

      Shirley, I cut way back on shows just a few years ago and have never looked back! It is a good feeling.

  6. April 6, 2012 11:06 pm

    Wow…really enjoying the right half of this lovely work. You put so much into your work, and the audience is always rewarded. Scrolling back up to look again! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

