Skip to content

Progress on Another Painting

March 30, 2012

WIP - Acrylic on Canvas, 30x30"

This is another 30×30″ canvas I’ve been working on. The picture above is from a previous post, and was the status of it this morning when I started on it again. I’ve been in the studio all day.

It’s been turned 90 degrees to the left for the current session, so you might not even be able to recognize it. This isn’t a great picture, but it’s only a progress report. I like what’s going on and know what I want to do to resolve it, which mostly means unifying the color some without sacrificing some of the little passages that give it character. The crinkly texture on the right hand side is from collaged tissue paper.

WIP, Acrylic on canvas, 30x30"

There is a buildup of textures in other areas from pumice gel and paint skins. Here’s a demo showing the use of Golden Pumice Gel. You can see the pumice gel texture in the upper left hand corner of the painting and also a big curved swath of it just to the left of center.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. patqu permalink
    March 30, 2012 8:12 pm

    Martha, I like where this is heading. Thanks for sharing. That first pic almost looked like a grid, before you worked it again.
    Patq

  2. March 30, 2012 9:08 pm

    Lovely that you could spend time in the studio to touch on your dream of returning to larger work. This one seems to be going good places. Hope you have time with it tomorrow.

  3. April 3, 2012 8:27 pm

    Thank you for sharing the Golden tutorials… I am so grateful for all that you share here on your blog post. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • April 6, 2012 2:59 pm

      I’m happy you enjoy the things that turn up here, Mary Helen! You are a big reason I show up to write.

  4. Chloe Waterfield permalink
    April 9, 2012 1:36 pm

    Some great work, I myself am delving into some abstract works at the moment, and I love experimenting by painting with sponges, adding stones, shells and feathers to my work etc. Abstract is so freeing, yet often, knowing where to begin is the hardest part? Sometimes no limits are limiting!

    Any advice? You can see some of my abstracts here at http://www.canidaeart.com

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

