Skip to content

Savoring the Dream

March 28, 2012

Last night I received a phone call from the director of the annual juried show at the local arts center, where I have submitted three of my paintings for inclusion in the show. On the application I had listed the dimensions of the paintings as 8x8x2, but I must have forgotten to say that this was in inches, not feet. The show director wanted to clarify that I did indeed mean inches, as the show’s size limits are something like 48 inches. We shared a little laugh, because she already had a pretty good idea what I meant, but wanted to make absolutely sure. The CDs and slides were being reviewed by the juror as we spoke.

Then last night I had the most amazing dream. It was vivid in every detail. I woke up thinking about it again early this morning.

We had just bought the biggest house I’ve ever been in. The dream house had a big curved staircase that led to a large loft flanked by a wall of windows on the north side of the house, creating an amazing amount of light. This loft was furnished for entertaining, but I was telling my husband  that this would be a perfect place to paint, that I would put drop cloths over the furniture and set up my painting studio right there. I could picture myself creating these amazing paintings and in my dream I could see some of them in great detail.

Further, I told him how I was planning to bring in a professional photographer and put together a portfolio for galleries of the new series I had in mind – all eight foot paintings!

It wasn’t until I went through the dream again in my mind that I realized where the idea had originated. Don’t you love how dreams sometimes happen?

I’ve felt really positive about this dream all day. I have no illusions about doing eight foot paintings, but still love working on a relatively large scale. I wonder if it will jump start a new painting series or spark some kind of renewed effort to get into some new galleries. So far, the feeling lingers. I want to savor it for a little while longer.

The image shown above is a piece of an original painting, digitally enhanced. It is an example of the types of paintings that I saw in my dream.
21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2012 9:14 pm

    Thanks for sharing your dream. I love art dreams! The dream may be telling you to go bigger…and your work could be quite nice on larger canvas.
    Regards,
    Laura

    • March 29, 2012 9:17 am

      Thanks for the encouragement, Laura. I’ve resisted painting on a large scale over the past 3 or 4 years, because I’ve run out of space for more. But that should never be a reason not to do something.

  2. kathryndyche permalink
    March 28, 2012 9:16 pm

    I love it when the good kind of dreams linger and we can lose ourselves in that sensation. So cool to have an inspirational dream

    • March 29, 2012 9:18 am

      Kathryn, I love that too, and for me it doesn’t happen often. I hope it means something good.

  3. March 28, 2012 9:48 pm

    I do love dreams like this Martha and every once in awhile I even daydream about a larger studio space. But then I remember the French painter Seraphine who worked as a house cleaner during the day and gathered the pigments necessary to make her paints. Then she would paint by candle light late into the night on her knees on the floor. I think of this I know I have it so very good. Lots of room. Lots of light. And no floors to scrub for others before I can get to my real work 🙂

    • March 29, 2012 9:24 am

      We are both blessed, Terrill. My studio isn’t fancy but it’s roomy enough. In a perfect world I’d have a skylight, but maybe someday I will. I believe we artists usually find a way, no matter what the circumstances are.

  4. March 29, 2012 2:36 am

    Love your dream Martha (I rarely dream about painting but when I do it’s always very special) I could totally see the digitally enhanced painting above as a huge painting!

    • March 29, 2012 9:26 am

      Marie Louise, I used to dream paintings fairly often, but it’s been a long time between dreams. I think it has something to do with sleep habits, and those are getting better lately! There’s a lesson in there somewhere! 😉

  5. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    March 29, 2012 3:38 am

    Wow! I hope that you have recorded those pictures you remember so that you can paint them if you wish to. What an incredibly creative dream. Last evening I attended the opening of an exhibition at one of our dealer galleries and ended up buying a really superb painting (not one by the exhibitor) that I just fell in love with at first sight. It is a still life of cherry blossoms with the white of the blossoms standing out against a complex background in rich dark colours, oil on canvas. I’ll pick it up next week now that I’ve arranged insurance for it.

    • March 29, 2012 9:27 am

      Sandra, I haven’t exactly recorded them, so maybe I’d better! They’re fresh now, but may fade if I don’t.

      Wow, that’s exciting that you made a special art purchase. That’s such a wonderful indulgence. Good for you!

  6. March 29, 2012 9:06 am

    You never know, Martha, for years I had, not a dream, but a sense of walking from a mailbox up a driveway to my house. None of the places I have lived matched. Recently I was walking with the mail in my hand and looked up. Yep, I was there! And no, this is not a remember response; the mailbox was at the front walk not the drive when I was a child.

    Put that dream in a little space in the back of your brain. You’ll stumble over it occasionally and one day you’ll realize that you are there. Maybe you’ll raIse the roof on your current studio, add a loft with a wall of windows . . .

    Apologies that this is so long. Annette

    • March 29, 2012 9:30 am

      Thanks for sharing that, Annette. Your comments could never be too long! I will definitely follow your advice. Now I’ve written down the dream (in this blog) and can refer back to it when I need to. As for any future studio changes, it would be nice to put in a skylight. That is not an impossible idea!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

