Skip to content

Visiting a Treasured Relative

March 1, 2012

Today we drove 70 miles to meet my 93-year-old aunt for lunch. She goes out to lunch every day of her life, and has had the same routine for many years. She is past driving now, and very frail. But with a lot of  help arranging things in her life, she now has full-time care in her home and can therefore continue doing the things she loves. Her caregiver lovingly gets her ready to go out every day, and helps her into and out of the car and into the restaurant. The regulars say their hellos and are always happy to see her. She taught high school in the same town for a lot of years, and therefore knows just about everyone in town.

I hadn’t been to visit her for a while with my busy schedule. But I knew it was time. She was dressed to the nines in a black blazer and slacks, bright red blouse, and matching beads. Her white hair was perfect and shining as always. And she was animated and full of her stories about the family.

It was a gorgeous spring day. Everything was perfect in every way.

The picture at the top is typical of the countryside on the way down to my aunt’s house.

The next picture is one of many that I took of the damage from the tornadoes that went through the small town almost one year ago between here and where my aunt lives. We see the destruction for a stretch of several miles along the highway every time we go. These are what remains of trees that were mowed down as if they were so many weeds.

It’s very hard to imagine the force of such a storm. We are entering that season once again.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 9:25 pm

    Yes this afternoon we were under a tornado watch and had severe thunderstorms. My family in Louisville are fine after a horrible afternoon of threatening skies. My brother in Nashville is fine also. Your aunt sounds like a great lady….then and Now! Have a great weekend! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  2. Anonymous permalink
    March 3, 2012 4:59 pm

    Hi Martha, When I hear on the weather channel up here in Montreal about the horrible tornadoes down south I can’t help wondering if you are alright. What we have seen on the news lately about the devastation down there is heart-rending. Hope you are safe. And ‘chapeau’ to your aunt, what a wonderful lady she must be to have around.

    Cheers, Sherrill Pearson, Montreal, Quebec

  3. March 4, 2012 4:22 pm

    What a delightful auntie story. I think so much lately about growing very old and who will be around. I pray I will be as spry as your auntie! And, what a lucky girl to have you.

    I think the world’s weather is really changin’. We get crazy wind storms here. 90 mile an hour winds – enough to make someone go nutty! And, growing up, we spent many times wiling away in the basement. I remember a tornado going over our neighborhood when I was 6 – went right over our house, didn’t even take down the tent we had up in the backyard, and touch down and the end of the block! Wow!

    Hope it’s quite there now.

    • March 6, 2012 9:23 am

      Wow, Jennifer! That’s some crazy wind for sure. Wish I had a basement. 😦

      My aunt is one of the fortunate ones. She’s so blessed to be surrounded by so many people who love her and keep an eye out.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

