Skip to content

Choosing Work for a Show

February 29, 2012

The deadline is just around the corner for Arts Alive, the local arts center’s annual juried show. I have agonized over what three pieces to enter in the show for the past month. I wanted very much to have the three large ones ready to enter, but I’ve finally accepted that it just isn’t going to happen. So I’m entering these three:

Haiku 80 - Acrylic and Graphite on Cradled Panel, 8x8"

Haiku 79 - Mixed media on cradled panel,8x8x2"

Haiku 78, Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8x2"

Three pieces are the maximum that can be entered, and I always submit three. So we’ll see if they get in.

I rarely do juried art competitions any more, but this local show is a great one, and the opening reception is always a beautiful event.

My design work has kept me very busy lately, and tomorrow I’ll be gone most of the day. I hope you’re feeling inspired this week. I wish I had a little more time in the studio, but this too shall pass.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 11:31 pm

    interesting work!

  2. birdsfoottrefoil permalink
    March 1, 2012 1:23 am

    good luck! i love the textural quality of Haiku 80 particularly.

  3. March 1, 2012 7:48 am

    Excellent choices Martha.

  4. patq permalink
    March 1, 2012 9:29 am

    Martha I love your choices. Beautiful striking works.
    Pat q

  5. March 1, 2012 7:51 pm

    How timely: trying to figure out work for a show myself. I agree on the beautiful texture in #80. Good luck, Martha!

    • March 4, 2012 7:20 am

      Thank you, Liz. I hope the juror can visualize the texture, since a photo doesn’t ever really show it all.

  6. March 2, 2012 3:13 am

    I am sure you will be recognized as the talented, creative person you are.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

