Skip to content

Small Paintings I Wish Were Big

February 23, 2012

Elements 16, Acrylic and Collage on Cradled Panel, 8x8"

Haiku 11, Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8"

Haiku 63, Acrylic on Cradled Panel, 8x8"

But do I wish it enough to paint them in a larger format? They are good studies, should I decide to do it. I believe all of these are sold, so I’d have to use the pictures as a reference. (Note: I guess I really do love black.)

No further development yet on the works in progress in the studio. They are still at the looking stage.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2012 7:45 am

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Haiku 63! and the first one – — WOW!
    Great choices for larger work (IMHO)

    😀 eirdre

  2. February 24, 2012 8:00 am

    These make quite an impact, that first one especially, love the layers of text under all that paint. Be interesting to see them on a larger scale

  3. Anonymous permalink
    February 24, 2012 12:00 pm

    I know exactly what you mean Martha. I like big – 30×30. I feel you can ‘see’ the great detail in the painting better and appreciate the sensuousness of the colour. I love these black and whites.

    Sherrill Pearson, Montreal

    • February 24, 2012 7:48 pm

      Sherrill, I’ve realized that I love that size, and that a painting doesn’t have to be larger than that for impact. Thanks – glad you like these ideas.

  4. ericadamajournal.blogspot.com permalink
    February 25, 2012 4:11 am

    I love them all. But the top -one is really great.

    • February 25, 2012 7:43 am

      Thank you, Eric! Nice to see you pop in here. Reminds me that I need to see what you’ve been doing lately.

  5. February 26, 2012 1:58 pm

    There is SO MUCH to Haiku 63 ! I love them all, but that one grabs me, for some reason. I can see exactly why you’d consider enlarging them into a big statement. Sometimes a whisper is appropriate; sometimes you just wanna scream. Or at least raise your voice… 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

