Skip to content

The Looking Stage

February 20, 2012

After another day in the studio, a heavy coat of clear gel and two days’ drying time, this painting has reached the stage that will require a lot of looking and thinking. I like it now, but it isn’t where I want it to be yet. I will probably unify the colors just a little. But I don’t want to lose some of the contrast in texture and color.

Note: The clear gel still hasn’t cured completely, as you can see from the cloudy area just underneath the blue in the upper left.

Work in Progress, Acrylic and Mixed Media on Canvas, 36x24x4"

Detail 1

Detail 2

Detail 3

Detail 4

If you want to refer to earlier stages of this painting, they are in some recent posts.

I hope your week is a creative one.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandra Kennedy permalink
    February 21, 2012 3:35 am

    What a fascinating work! I shall be very interested to see how this develops. What is the effect of the gel between layers of paint?

    • February 22, 2012 1:37 pm

      Sandra, so glad you like what’s happening. The gel between layers does a magical thing — it allows the light to bounce around on the surface of the painting and enhance the colors. If the layer of gel between layers of paint is thick, you can almost see a three-dimensional effect.

  2. February 21, 2012 6:15 am

    Oh such yummy colours and texture. Will check out your lovley stuff in the sidebar too (flickr). Have a great day!

  3. patq permalink
    February 21, 2012 5:25 pm

    Martha I love the newest work. Those colors are gorgeous! I find it hard to say if a painting is done or not…to me your work looks done.
    I remember an art teacher pulling the brush from my hand because I just kept reworking and reworking a piece. It was a funny moment. 🙂
    Pat q

  4. February 21, 2012 8:31 pm

    I love the intriguing textures and your color choices continue to draw the viewer closer to really see these processes. Great work Marsha! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

