Skip to content

Work in Progress Update

February 16, 2012

Shown below is the painting I’ve been working on after today’s time in the studio. I decided a few important things about this piece. I wanted more texture and more colors, even though I may tone it down later. I needed to break through the hesitation about possibly ruining something I already like. So I needed to just go for broke.

I looked at some of my mat board scraps that I’ve used for paint spreaders in the past, and which I always save for inspiration. The important thing about them is that they were done not as paintings but contain really surprising and fun color combinations and textures.

To the canvas I’ve added heavy clear gel in some areas, and more heavy pumice gel in others. Thicker paint has been applied and spread with my big spreader. I’ve introduced more colors. Embedded into the gel is a piece of plastic mesh from the grocery store, which has been painted over.

And now I have to wait for all that heavy application of paint to dry before proceeding. The heavy clear gel will provide texture for more paint application over that. Things are getting more exciting now.

Work in Progress, Mixed Media on Canvas, 24x36x4"

Detail 1

Detail 2

Detail 3

Detail 4

The previous stage of the painting is shown here.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Terry permalink
    February 16, 2012 9:55 pm

    Oh Martha – this is becoming something wonderful! I can almost feel it!!! Can’t wait to see the finished piece.

  2. February 16, 2012 10:04 pm

    I’ve not had a chance to catch up on my favorite art blogs since opening my studio. This painting is looking DELICIOUS!!! I look forward to seeing the outcome.

    • February 22, 2012 1:33 pm

      Thanks, John! I’ll let you know one way or another when it’s ready for a final look.

  3. February 17, 2012 7:38 am

    Love the added textures and colour, it’s been fun to see you bring this re-do to life.

  4. Sharon permalink
    February 17, 2012 1:58 pm

    Looking good.

  5. February 18, 2012 11:29 am

    I love the textures and the work in progress photos.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

