Skip to content

My So-Called Painting

February 14, 2012

No, it’s not really being called a painting yet. But I did want to show you how far I’ve gotten. Already I’m seeing things I want to keep in. I hate when that happens, because it makes me too tentative. But mostly at this stage I want it to have a richness of built-up marks and texture.

Here’s just a small peek from today.

Work in Progress, 24x36"

There is a thin black wash over a lot of it, because of my tendency toward grunge. And because black accentuates the textures nicely.

Maybe if I’m lucky I’ll get to smear some more paint tomorrow.

In case you missed the first post when I started reworking this painting, it’s here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2012 7:36 am

    The previous painting is sporting a whole new look now, love where this is heading. I so agree with you about trying to preserve areas of a painting because you like it but ultimately it winds up slowing you down, so all too often those favourite areas get altered 🙂 Like feeling your way through a maze in the dark!

    • February 16, 2012 8:56 am

      Bren, you are so right! It’s exactly like that. So now what do I do? I’ve blogged about this phenomenon before, and it’s always frustrating. I try not to let myself “fall in love” with any one area in a painting. But sometimes I do anyway.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

