Skip to content

Reworking an Old Painting

February 8, 2012

Sunrise, Acrylic on Canvas, 36x24x4″

This was a perfectly respectable painting. But as respectable paintings go, I already have plenty of them in my personal collection storage shed. So I find myself much more ruthless as time goes on when it comes to paintings that I truly want to preserve versus ones that can be recycled.

This one is on a wonderful deep box canvas, one of three canvases that I bought about 7 or 8 years ago. I was happy with all three paintings. One of them sold to a great collector, the second one is hanging in my living room, and then there was this one.

I felt that this canvas would be a good one for my built up textures and collage elements. So here is the final before shot.

Here we go! I’ve added some swirls, drips, and textural areas.

The sandy texture is done with Golden Coarse Pumice Gel.

The swirls here and there were achieved with my wonderful new Colour Shaper. Some of the dripped and poured paint has been dragged across the canvas with a foam core board squeegee.

These drips were going to be smeared around at first, but I loved the thickness of the paint, so I’ve left those to dry.

Finally, I’ve collaged a piece of painted newsprint onto the surface, and here is the current state of the painting at the end of my painting session today.

No one knows where this will go from here, least of all me. I love a mystery.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. birdsfoottrefoil permalink
    February 9, 2012 3:47 am

    i LOVE watching the development – exciting and inspiring

  2. February 9, 2012 4:26 am

    This is fun, seeing where you will go with this do over, I like what I’m seeing so far. And thank you for the tip on the Colour Shaper, looks like a great tool, I’m going to look into it now 🙂

    • February 14, 2012 9:33 pm

      Bren, I’ve had the colour shaper for about a year and forget to use it, then I’m surprised how wonderful it is when I do pick it up! Glad you like the experiment.

  3. sbmacinnis permalink
    February 9, 2012 8:52 am

    Love seeing another artist’s work space. Great to see a painting developing.

    • February 14, 2012 9:34 pm

      Yes, I love seeing other artists’ spaces too. I can never get enough of them. Glad you like what’s happening!

  4. February 9, 2012 11:29 am

    Fun transformation and creativity abounds! Love the textures! Can’t wait to see where you go next with this. 🙂

  5. February 11, 2012 11:34 am

    First comes the portfolio
    Next the personal collection
    Then it’s…. the shed!

    Love it. I think we all have walls that will only hold so much.

Trackbacks

  1. My So-Called Painting « An Artist's Journal

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

