Skip to content

Jonathan Talbot’s Collage Fusing Method

February 7, 2012

Jonathan Talbot’s collage fusing method is something I wanted to share with you in case you have not tried it. It is absolutely the best way to create very neat and smooth, wrinkle-free collages. I don’t do a lot of it with my very textured papers, but it’s a great technique.

I had the opportunity to learn this hands-on at a Jonathan Talbot collage workshop.  You can use this method even if you don’t have a tacking iron, which is recommended in the instructions. I just use edges and the pointed end of a regular iron for small work. If you ever get a chance to attend one of Jonathan’s workshops, I highly recommend them.

Truthfully, there hasn’t been much art happening here today, so meanwhile I thought I’d just share this little gem of creative inspiration for you to try.

I hope to be back to normal by tomorrow. Yesterday was naturally very hard to get through, and today I spent a lot of time out in the garden with my other two dogs. The sun was bright, not a cloud anywhere, and everything is budding as if spring had already arrived. I prepared some of the raised beds for immediate planting of beets, lettuce, and English peas. The sunshine was a godsend for all of us.

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. birdsfoottrefoil permalink
    February 10, 2012 3:06 pm

    thanks for this – fascinating – will get some acrylic medium next time i go shopping and have a go

    • February 14, 2012 9:36 pm

      I hope you do, birdsfoottrefoil. Jonathan Talbot says that Golden gloss medium works best. That’s the one I use, but I have a feeling there are others that work too.

  2. February 12, 2012 7:50 pm

    Hi Martha – I am so sorry to hear about Boomer. So heart breaking. We have an old guy who’s time is near, too. Very hard. Hope you enjoyed your cocktail with good memories.

    Thanks also for the collage info – I looked at his site before – I will revisit!

    hugs. jenn

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

