Skip to content

R.I.P. Boomer, 1997-2012

February 6, 2012

Boomer, Christmas 2011

I wrote back in March of last year that our oldest dog Boomer had been diagnosed with cancer. Three surgeries and several good quality months later, his time finally came today.  It’s gut wrenching to say goodbye to a family member, even if they do have four legs and fur.

I know we’re going to feel better in a little while. Right now, I’m having a scotch, neat, with a water chaser.

Back to art tomorrow, my friends. I love you all!

 

 

45 Comments leave one →
  1. annie vanderven permalink
    February 6, 2012 5:36 pm

    my heart goes out to you, they are the best companions.

    Annie v.

  2. patq permalink
    February 6, 2012 5:40 pm

    Martha: I was sorry to hear about Boomer. It is difficult to lose a member of one’s family. Remember the happy moments he brought you and your family.
    Patq

    • February 7, 2012 2:48 pm

      We will, Pat. Thank you. He was a character and it’s going to be an adjustment just not seeing him around. Lots of good memories.

  3. February 6, 2012 5:48 pm

    I am so sad to hear this dear Martha, I can almost feel you, because of my cat, it’s been more than five years. R.I.P. for this lovely Boomer, with my love, nia

  4. February 6, 2012 6:12 pm

    I am so very sad to hear about the loss of Boomer. Very sad. I wanted you to know that my thoughts are with you and your husband.
    Sincerely,
    Sondra

  5. February 6, 2012 6:26 pm

    Dear Martha
    I am so sorry for you , I know exactly how do you feel !!
    I”ve been through the same with our german shepher.
    Sincerlly
    Claudia Bardasano

    • February 7, 2012 2:50 pm

      Thank you, Claudia. It’s painful for sure, but they bring a lot of joy to our lives.

  6. February 6, 2012 6:29 pm

    Oh Martha, I am so very sorry. They are such a major part of our lives. I am certain that Boomer was greatly loved and will be greatly missed.

    • February 7, 2012 2:50 pm

      Thank you, Lottie. They truly are family, and we try to give them the best that we have.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

