Skip to content

Studio Update

February 4, 2012

Update on Work in the Studio

I may be closer to finishing the two new collages on canvas. Here they are with a little more unifying and defining color added (and I include black as a color.)

WIP 1 - Collage and Acrylic on Canvas, 20x20"

WIP 2 - Collage and Acrylic on Canvas, 16x20"

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 4:08 am

    I really like these two Martha. Earth colours and black appeal very much to my personal aesthetic. Some of my Artist Society friends tend not to agree (not beautiful enough) but I enjoy working with these colours. I really enjoy your cubist references. You are something of an inspiration to me actually. Your work ethic is something we can all learn from. In response I decided to create of body of work over the Christmas holidays – 60 paintings in 60 days (on A4 sized paper, using acrylic, graphite, Colourfix, ink, and carbon pencil). I have have just finished the project and am very happy with my results. Good onya Martha and happy art making. Ken

    • February 4, 2012 7:22 am

      Ken that pleases me to hear. Thank you so much for the encouraging words. And I would love to see your 60 pieces. What a show that will be!

  2. February 4, 2012 11:28 am

    These are very strong pieces, Martha, ones I’d be proud to hang on my wall. The subtiety of color and texture and the meld of form in space are spot on.

  3. February 4, 2012 4:04 pm

    The proportion of colour is just perfect in both. I love the way you are heading. Keep up the good work.

    • February 4, 2012 4:20 pm

      Thanks so much, Myfanwy. It helps to hear how you see them, especially since I’ve been looking at them for so long and lack objectivity.

  4. February 4, 2012 8:42 pm

    Love them both Martha. I must confess, as much as I love black and white, no. 1 here is definitely my favourite. That little daub of crimson/orange mid-left is absolutely essential. Rivets the entire thing for me. Nice to see you inching back upwards, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. February 5, 2012 1:52 pm

    Fabulous job on both of these! Wow! Love the textures, color choices, and great composition, you should be very happy with these. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • February 6, 2012 6:24 am

      Thank you, Deb. So glad you like them. I think I’m happy with them. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Wish I could be more objective, but can’t always.

  6. February 5, 2012 3:39 pm

    Hi Martha

    I’ve been following your Artist’s Journal for over a year now and I must say that these two are up there among your best work – I particularly like WIP 1 and I bet it looks even better full size at 20″ x 20″. I discovered quite some time ago that a square format works better for me.

    Keep ’em coming

    Malcolm

    • February 6, 2012 6:36 am

      Malcolm, I’m very flattered. Thanks so much. I appreciate your taking the time to comment and hope you will again. I’ve enjoyed looking through your gallery on your site. The abstracts feel like such a natural fit with the rest of your work. Love your use of color and form.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

