Skip to content

Haiku 79 – Mixed Media on Panel

February 1, 2012
Haiku 79 3D

Haiku 79 - Mixed media on cradled panel,8x8x2"

Here is the most recent version of this piece, started last week:

I wanted to preserve the weathered wood and paint appearance of the background, but I added three more layers for interest and richness. First, a pour with drips of yellow ochre; second, a collaged piece of partially-composted cardboard; finally, a heavy coat of clear gel over the entire painting.

Big News!
I have a new sales blog for affordable small works and eventually will be closing my two Etsy shops. You may remember my two blogs just for paintings and collage. The new one will replace those two all in one place and I’m calling it Paint Paper Canvas. Check it out. Of course, if you see anything on this blog, my website, or anywhere else, and you’re curious whether it’s available, all you have to do is ask via the “About” section in the sidebar. Because, well, It usually is. ย  ๐Ÿ˜‰

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 2:00 pm

    These are gorgeous and I scrolled down to your two previous posts, “Work in Progress” OMGosh – they are SO beautiful. I’ve been away from blogging the last week or so and I have missed so much. Thank you for the inspiration.

  2. February 3, 2012 7:15 am

    Hi Martha – Your work is endlessly lovely. And congrats on your move from Etsy!

    • February 3, 2012 8:36 am

      Thanks, Jennifer. I so appreciate that. As for Etsy, I’m looking forward to being free from it all.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    February 3, 2012 7:48 am

    Mmmm, yum! Can I haz butter and powdered sugar with mine?

    It’s been interesting to watch your work morph over the years. From what I call your organic period to these totally auto-flow mini’s. It’s as if the art that increasingly pours out of you was in there and just needed a series of smacks with a perfect brush or screed to set them up to the gates again.

    Love,
    D

    pS You should see your works on morphine! Seriously sizzles everything to uber vibrancy.

  4. February 3, 2012 4:49 pm

    Love the new blog. And as for this piece, now don’t laugh – but it reminds me of toffee.

    And that isn’t bad…..

  5. February 4, 2012 8:58 pm

    Wow, I’m away for a few months, and I return to find lusciousness-as-usual. Congrats on so much resolution of ideas in all of your efforts. You’ve still got it, kid!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

