Skip to content

A Surprise Painting

January 25, 2012

It's Still Winter - Acrylic and Graphite on Cradled Panel, 8x8"

This painting is the perfect example of how unpredictable my process is. Look at the before version below (with apologies for the bad photo.) Remember all that splattered and smeared and troweled color? All it ended up doing was create a very interesting texture when covered with white and gray and lines. It was probably the least promising of the three pieces I’d started. But I went out there tonight and decided to transform it into one with a neutral palette. I like it now.

Work In Progress, Before Version

 

Goodbye to Mediocrity

Next, I’ve been going through some paintings that I’d like to cover with new work. They are ones that were OK at the time I did them, but don’t really stand the test of time. We all have those, don’t we? After all, I do have quite a few that I’d never think of painting over. But I was surprised how many I found out there in the studio that are just ripe for something new. Large canvases to possibly use in my new painting/collage experiments. It was like going shopping!

A New Online Discovery

I’ve just discovered a fun website for collage artists, kohlage.com. I may sign up and upload some pieces. Lots of interesting stuff to see there, including a whole list of links to free and open source images for use in collage. If you visit the site, be sure to visit the “resources” page.

I’m going to have fun tomorrow smearing some more paint. I hope you have some interesting things happening in your world too.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2012 10:10 pm

    I always seem to like color. The more the better. But I have to say that I really really like the way the piece looks covered in white and grey. So beautiful.

    • January 25, 2012 10:41 pm

      Thank you, Deb! I’m so happy you like it, even though it may not be your palette preference.

  2. January 26, 2012 4:27 am

    I always remember a tutor saying that colour is OK for children and those new to art, but you can always tell when an artist grows up because they start using neutrals…..

    I’m not sure if that’s true, but I do think that we view the validity of neutrals in a different way. I love it. It speaks to me of quietude and patience.

    • January 26, 2012 8:39 am

      Myfanwy, I was a color junkie for most of my artistic life, up until about five years ago. I knew intellectually that neutrals and greyed-down colors had an elegant sophistication, and I admired other artists’ ability to make them speak. But I couldn’t give up my addiction somehow.

      Now I’m becoming addicted to white, cream, charcoal, brown, and grey. Quietude and patience? I love that thought.

  3. January 26, 2012 9:02 am

    What a transformation! I love the new piece — it highlights the texture beautifully. It got simpler AND more interesting, something I’m still trying to figure out how to do.

    • January 26, 2012 10:14 am

      Thank you, Liz! I’m very much trying to walk that fine line too. It isn’t that easy.

  4. January 26, 2012 9:28 am

    The change is just amazing… wonderful, I love it! Very inspirational! I’ve been limiting my pallet lately to one (or two) colors plus black, white and unbleached titanium, and I really like the outcome. I think I have a ways to go before I “grow up”, but I am loving the process. 🙂

    • January 26, 2012 3:45 pm

      Deb, I very much appreciate your feedback. Yes, I know — I almost have to hide the bright colors from myself and just keep the neutrals around.

  5. January 26, 2012 10:17 am

    The neutral version really brought out the ‘bones’ of it. It’s gorgeous. I’m kind of a color junkie – I may need to reconsider my use of or reliance on it.

    • January 26, 2012 4:31 pm

      Thank you, Martha! I’m a color junkie as well, but an artist friend once reminded me that neutrals are colors too. That helped me to reframe the idea.

  6. January 26, 2012 11:37 am

    I liked the first one . . . but I absolutely LOVE the new version! The subtle palette really lets the composition and texture be the star. Lovely and sophisticated-and very inspiring!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

