Skip to content

Thinking About What If

January 24, 2012

Enduring Stories - Collage, 5x7" on 8x10" backing

It was good to be in the studio today. It is a warm and welcoming feeling, and everything that happens is a new discovery. It felt so good to just explore the possibilities of papers and texture and colors. The collage shown above is composed of hand painted and weathered papers.

Right now I am thinking about collage on a very large scale, primarily because of the show that’s coming up. I want to see what happens if I try to translate some of these ideas onto canvas or a large panel. Of course as always I will share what develops.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 11:46 pm

    That’s hard to do, going large with collage. I’ve been working on larger works and there seems to be a ceiling, at least for me, because of the limits of the size of my papers. I’ll keep working at it and will watch what you do to solve this problem. It seems to me that at a certain point switching to direct painting is a better way to pull it off.

    • January 25, 2012 8:20 pm

      Jo, I’ve been thinking and thinking about this, and not quite sure how to proceed. However, one thing I envision is painting large pieces of papers first, since I do love to use hand painted papers anyway. I’m thinking roll paper, brown and also white. For added text and graphic elements, perhaps print out larger scale copies. Stay tuned.

  2. January 25, 2012 11:11 am

    Going large is what I’ve decided to do this year! I’ve started! Good luck to you.

    • January 25, 2012 8:21 pm

      Thanks, and to you too, Fadwa! If I do come up with a number of new large scale works, I’ll then have to figure out how and where to show them.

  3. magicinthewoods permalink
    January 25, 2012 1:13 pm

    Though I don’t know what you would consider “large scale”, I’ve worked on a few 24″ x 36″ panels – a 1/4 luaun board, gessoed front and back. Lightweight but doesnt warp like paper or masonite. I’ve used cloth and modelling compounds. On one I even drilled holes to attach copper sheeting. Lots of fun. Your work is fantastic!

    • January 25, 2012 8:22 pm

      Thanks, Magic! Well, I’d call 24×36 pretty large scale as collage goes. I’d love to see your work! Do you have a link?

      • magicinthewoods permalink
        January 26, 2012 9:14 am

        I just started blogging again this month at http://magicinthewoods.wordpress.com/.
        The largest one here is 16″ x 20″ , though the kitchen cabinet panels are quite big too.
        Have fun with concertina book!

      • January 26, 2012 10:14 am

        Thanks for the link, Magic! Keep up the great blogging. I love what you’re doing.

  4. January 26, 2012 4:02 am

    Hmm, interesting. In my head (!) I have a germ of an idea. It’s a bit more than a germ really, and it’s a zigzag. It’s a long concertina book, so it can be displayed in several forms. I think it will be an ongoing exploration, but not a sketchbook or journal, an actual piece. I’m going to start it soon, so I’ll occasionally post it somewhere. I’m thinking something like 8 x 11 but 70ish pages. Does that count as large?

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

