Skip to content

Like Driving A Car At Night

January 23, 2012

Tierra 7, Acrylic on Panel, 10x10"


“E.L. Doctorow once said that ‘Writing a novel is like driving a car at night. You can see only as far as your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.’ You don’t have to see where you’re going, you don’t have to see your destination or everything you will pass along the way. You just have to see two or three feet ahead of you. This is right up there with the best advice on writing, or life, I have ever heard.” 

― Anne LamottBird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life

These are beautiful words for visual artists as well. I highly recommend this book by Anne Lamott, which I read several years ago. It doesn’t matter that it’s for writers, though it might inspire you to find your inner writer. It’s simply great reading full of life lessons and practical advice for becoming a better observer of everything in your world.

Storm Season Arrives

You may have seen news about tornadoes in our area last night. I was up with the dogs for most of the night, due to the terror that my Reno goes through with storms. I have a wrap for her that’s supposed to be soothing, but it doesn’t really help her for severe weather. She is well aware of wild fluctuations in the barometric pressure, even when there’s no lightning and thunder. I kept the TV tuned into local weather, and right after midnight during an imminent tornado warning, we sat in the floor in the inside hallway where I could still see the TV. That is, until we lost our satellite signal. Then I pulled the channel up on my laptop. The storm passed us by in short order, but by that time I was wide awake. I thanked my girl for being such a good protector. Sigh.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 3:55 am

    I’m glad you were side stepped, and that Reno had you ready just in case, though I expect some catch up sleep would be appreciated now 🙂 She’s a beautiful dog.
    Love Anne’s books, and my fav is Bird by Bird, she makes me smile.

    • January 24, 2012 7:13 am

      I love it too, Bren. I think I’ll get it and read it again. I had borrowed it from a friend but probably need my own copy!

  2. January 24, 2012 2:57 pm

    Oh Martha, I’m glad that’s one thing we don’t share on a regular basis. So glad it passed. Stay safe.

  3. January 24, 2012 7:31 pm

    Hi Martha – That is the greatest quote ever, ever.

    Glad the weather has passed. We don’t experience Tornadoes in our part of Colorado, but growing up in the Midwest – we experienced them all summer long.

    Love “Tierra 7”. Perfect name – has an earthy quality and looks like some encaustic?

    • January 25, 2012 8:14 pm

      Thanks Jennifer – glad you like the painting. It’s all acrylic, but I do try to lean in the direction of an encaustic effect.

  4. January 24, 2012 8:35 pm

    I did wonder when I woke up to the morning news…poor Reno …but you were safe and together. Tornadoes are such a devastating experience and the weather this January has been off for 2012. I wonder if the solar flares are involved? Of course there is no global warming happening due to our wasteful fossil fuel ways…I am being sarcastic. Happy Trails Marsha and be safe. Blessings for a quiet night for you all. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • January 25, 2012 8:18 pm

      Mary Helen, I’m sure this climate change has to be affected by fossil fuels. If people could just see the global temperature charts I’m sure they’d realize it. I sure don’t remember this many tornadoes when I lived here before (childhood through young adulthood.) That huge number of them last year in a 24-hour period was previously unheard of.

  5. January 24, 2012 8:36 pm

    I need to find my copy of Anne’s book…I read it years ago and could use a refresher course. Peace, Mary Helen

  6. January 24, 2012 9:35 pm

    Boy that would be frightening for me…We are located on the edge of Lake Ontario and our area seldom has tornados….and for that I am thankful. I can’t imagine sitting, waiting, listening for reports…..I probably wouldn’t sleep for several nights. The quote is good for all of our lives…..live in the present, trust we will get to where we are supposed get, don’t sweat the small stuff and have the right priorities……I like this canvas, restful, soothing, subtle flow..

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

