Skip to content

More Canvas Configurations

January 18, 2012

Canvas grouping, 14 x 35"

This is another example of canvases that have been combined into one unit. As soon as I put these together, they sold to a collector in New York.

I find it fun and interesting to add dimension to an otherwise flat presentation.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 8:11 pm

    This is wonderful Martha! Is each one a separate canvas and you attached them all together? How on earth did you do that?

    Thanks for sharing and glad it sold! 🙂

    Itaya

    • January 19, 2012 4:22 pm

      Itaya, I just arranged them so that there was enough contact between the wood stretcher bars of the stacked canvases to put in screws through two stretchers from the back, and in a way that looked pleasing to me. I used a drill with a screw driver bit and drove slender drywall screws into them from the back. I put at least two screws through each stretcher for stability.

  2. January 18, 2012 8:59 pm

    Congratulations on your sale Martha and what a great idea! They are stunning each on their own but take on a whole new feeling put together like this.

  3. January 19, 2012 12:56 am

    no wonder, they are fabulous!

  4. Sandra permalink
    January 19, 2012 3:38 am

    love this! and it gives me an idea of how to play with the stack of old canvases i have in my loft – inspiring, very inspiring!

    • January 19, 2012 4:46 pm

      I’m glad, Sandra! I’ll bet you can come up with some interesting ideas with your old canvases.

  5. January 19, 2012 4:24 am

    I loved it dear Martha, Thank you, with my love, nia

  6. January 19, 2012 7:13 am

    Love the whole polyptych concept, the most I’ve worked with is 3 but I hope to explore polys further!

    • January 19, 2012 4:47 pm

      Bren, I’m thinking that glue would work fine for affixing a small canvas to a larger one as well. This actually has my gears turning once again.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

