Skip to content

Getting Rid of Online Clutter

January 17, 2012

Echoes 19 - Acrylic on Canvas, 12x12"

Here we are beginning another new year, and once again I am doing a yearly review of which internet sites are serving my needs and which ones are not.

My website is now a no-frills version, a free site that I manage myself. I seriously doubt the need for a fancy website at this stage of my career. There are so many opportunities to showcase your art that the static website is fast becoming a thing of the past.

I have a facebook page that I update often, though probably not often enough. It can work well as both a portfolio and a blog of sorts, with more opportunities to network with a lot of really fine artists. If you have one too, please let me know in the comments section on this blog so we can connect. More and more artists are now establishing their own pages.

The jury is still out regarding my two Etsy shops. They are a considerable time requirement right now, at a time when other aspects of my art business require more and more of my attention. These links are colorpoetry and brushwithimagination.

Zatista is a great site for art marketing, and I’m adding more works to that one as time goes on. They do a good job of publicizing their site and their artists on social networking sites like facebook, twitter, and pinterest. Here is the link to my Zatista gallery.

Thanks to some of my readers, I have joined both RedBubble and ImageKind. These sites sell prints from uploaded images of your work, eliminating the shipping part. I like the idea, but am still waiting for sales to happen. (Though I do admit I need to upload more images on a frequent basis.)

I’m still on perhaps a dozen other websites (all free) just to keep the work out there visible to as many people as possible. But I keep a running list, monitor these links, and ditch any that aren’t working for me.

Is it any wonder that there’s little time to just get into the studio and paint?

The painting shown above is an example of my more colorful work. It’s not that new, but I still like that series.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2012 6:11 am

    You are quite right about the old style “homepage” and the trend to social networks; my option is something inbetween: it is good old blogging, because you don’t have to join the club to get in! I have reasons not to join facebook, so I’m not where the other kids are playing. Okay. My password book has far more pages than my real life address book. What has become of free surfing?
    “Where do you want to go today?” — Answer: I don’t have much choice…

    • January 18, 2012 9:53 am

      Eva, I’m still a big believer in blogging. I hate facebook but still use it. Just about once a month I vow to get off there, because I resent the amassing of personal data, even though I provide only the bare minimum.

  2. January 18, 2012 7:25 am

    Your website looks good. Can you share which free service you used to make it? I’m ready to make the switch

    • January 18, 2012 9:49 am

      Thanks, Linda. I built mine on Yola but I think Weebly might have a few more features. I joined both, but ended up doing the Yola one. I wish it had clickable images that enlarge. Weebly does have that. Both are easy enough to figure out. Good luck!

  3. January 18, 2012 8:15 am

    Morning Martha! It’s been a while. I’ve had some other obligations, but happy to be back and get a chance to read your blog.

    Yes, it’s interesting how much of our Artist time is spent not making art. I think we all need office managers! How much of your day do you spend on the computer and at the “easel”?

    I was just reading these great articles about some other artist and how they spend their time: http://www.finearttips.com/category/business-tips/power-artists/ (Lori McNee)

    Have a wonderful inspired day!

    • January 18, 2012 7:00 pm

      Jennifer, I couldn’t agree more regarding office managers. Why not? I’m looking forward to reading Lori’s articles.

  4. January 18, 2012 8:48 pm

    Hi Martha,

    Timing is everything. You are writing about an issue that is very much on my mind at the moment. Please feel free to join by FB Page as well.

  5. January 18, 2012 9:08 pm

    Martha I couldn’t agree with you more. I have an old site up for my previous work as leadership coach. I can’t do the updates myself and find it a complete pain. I made a decision to only use a wordpress format for my art website. Works great. Still it is the Creative Potager blog that is the place where most people come to visit.

    But I am thinking that you may be a good fit for the online gallery Artsy Home. They do an amazing job of promoting their artists work and the artist has control of putting up and taking down the work or making any updates. Here is my profile if you want to have a look http://www.artsyhome.com/author/terrillwelch This type of site I think is going to be the next best way to show our art work. I have sold one small piece already through them and I have only had a profile for about six weeks. Anyway it is a thought.

    • January 19, 2012 4:45 pm

      Terrill, I’m glad that WordPress works for you for an art site. I really should explore that. And thanks for the link — I’ll definitely check that out.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

