Skip to content

More Paintings in Saturated Colors

January 14, 2012

Here is a weekend post, because I missed yesterday.

In keeping with the thought of more saturated color, here are some pieces that you may or may not have seen before. It depends on how long you’ve been reading this blog.

Construction I, Acrylic on Gallery Wrap Canvas, 27 x 45 x 2-1/2"

Construction II, Acrylic on Gallery Wrap Canvas, 27 x 45 x 2-1/2"

These canvases were made to order, and after painting they were joined along the sides with bolts (after I drilled holes through the canvas and the wood) and there were two different depths, 1-1/2 and 2-1/2 inch, which made it more interesting.

After showing these on my website, I got a commission to do a similar grouping for a residence. This is what the homeowner ended up purchasing:

Commission, Acrylic on Canvas, 27 x 45"

 

As you can see, the colors for this grouping were toned down a little to blend with the surroundings. But still, it’s a lot of color.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. patq permalink
    January 14, 2012 6:10 pm

    Rather striking I think Martha. I like the color and the idea of different heights of each panel.
    Thanks for sharing.
    pat q

  2. January 14, 2012 6:20 pm

    Beautiful. How did the buyer finally choose? Did you edit/tone down what you’d made after getting feedback? Give the buyer a larger number to choose from?

    I love the way the blue sings in the middle photo.

    • January 15, 2012 12:42 am

      Linda, what we did was communicate about colors. He had seen the original bright ones, then sent me pictures of his great room and I did mockups in my paint program. Once he chose, we went from there.

  3. January 14, 2012 6:37 pm

    Excellent.

  4. January 14, 2012 10:52 pm

    This is a very strong color statement…it looks perfect over the fireplace but I could see it all through someone’s home. I also love the blue color! Have a great weekend! i just came home from a Richard Marx acoustic performance. What a gentleman and wonderful story teller. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

  5. January 15, 2012 2:51 am

    These are wonderful and rich, it’s not so much about bright colours as it is deep tones. Saturated as you said! Love the idea of using various depths of canvas, it does make it more interesting.

    • January 16, 2012 9:44 am

      Bren, you should try this with some of your canvases. It would work great! If I were to do more this way, I’d figure out a way to connect them a little less crudely than I did. Though it did work just fine.

      • January 17, 2012 7:52 am

        Thanks Martha, I do think I’ll give the varying depth canvases a try, love the look of them.

      • January 17, 2012 12:19 pm

        Go for it, Bren!

  6. January 15, 2012 11:09 am

    You never cease to surprise me, Matha. A brilliant idea and a perfect result.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

