Skip to content

Recycled Canvas Scraps

January 11, 2012

A couple of years ago I slashed a few paintings with the intention of destroying them. In the process, I ended up saving little scraps of the most interesting passages. Sad to say, I haven’t been able to locate these since our move. But I’m very tempted to do this again. Some of these pieces were incorporated into new works, and some of them became the basis for artist trading cards. I can even envision making a whole patchwork piece from a collection of these.

I art, nothing is really wasted.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2012 5:57 am

    Oh dear Martha, how beautiful and creative idea… A few years ago I wasted some of my oil paintings canvas… I didn’t like them. But I can imagine now how it would have been so nice with your idea…. But I learned something now. Thank you, you are so nice and so creative. Angels and muses be with you always, with my love, nia

    • January 12, 2012 1:28 pm

      Nia, I’m sad I’ve lost those pieces, but there are more canvases around that need to just go away to the scrap pile! Thanks, glad you like that idea!

  2. January 12, 2012 12:45 pm

    Patchwork! Can’t wait to see it.

  3. nancy permalink
    January 13, 2012 6:31 pm

    years ago i read ‘painting the spirit of nature’ by maxine masterfield – a great inspiration – and she suggested cutting paintings that don’t seem to work into strips and then weaving them together. so two paintings that dont work get combined into one. its fun to experiment with the idea… and maybe could be done with strips of canvas and other materials as well. i like the brightness of the panels in the previous posts martha… so cheerful on this grey day in the salish sea. it is lovely to visit your blog again!

    • January 14, 2012 5:45 am

      Nancy, I have that book somewhere, and used to look through it all the time. I had the honor of meeting her about 10 years ago in Sarasota, Florida, in a little gallery where she was taking down her show and I was putting mine up. It was a fun little serendipity.

      I love the weaving idea. Had a book on woven paper at one time too.

  4. January 14, 2012 2:37 pm

    Hmmmm….I’ve got some canvases that need to have this done to them! What a wonderful idea. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

