Skip to content

Stirring Things Up

January 10, 2012

Spring Thaw - Collage, 5x7"

This is my collage for the day. Its feeling is in keeping with the one that I posted yesterday, the same papers, the same thoughts of being suspended between seasons.

In the studio, I hauled out three panels with no idea in mind whatsoever, and it shows. It’s been so long since I smeared paint around that I literally didn’t know where to begin. So I began anyway. It isn’t quite fun yet.

Texture is the thing I love most, so I created some of that. And not texture from acrylic mediums or sand or any of that, but paint! Just paint right out of the tubes. I have made a real mess, but it’s a beginning. Who knows where it will lead? Notice the painted papers in the picture as well. I used those to clean off my brayers. Those will be thrown in the collage papers stack.

Obviously this is way more color than I’m accustomed to. It will get toned down in time. But I had to get something started. Sometimes you just have to do something, even if it’s wrong.

I hope you’re doing something and that it’s fun above all!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    January 11, 2012 5:52 am

    i am indeed doing something….a friend asked me to paint some very small faces on wood so she can add them to her jewelry and so i am doing that even though i can’t paint and away we go!
    margaret

    • January 11, 2012 7:09 am

      Margaret, that’s just silly. Of course you can paint! The jewelry sounds like a lot of fun. I hope you get a pair of earrings.

  2. January 11, 2012 11:41 am

    I can see that you are having fun, and that’s the most important thing. Who knows, you may be using more colour before long. Sometimes it just takes a moment to change course.

    • January 12, 2012 1:23 pm

      Myfanwy, I love color – intense, saturated color! I think I definitely respond to the colors of the season, but I think I’ll show you some of the colorful things I used to do before my palette toned down. Stay tuned!

  3. January 11, 2012 8:47 pm

    yeh…..you play with paint so well. We all will wait and see what lovely gems you produce….I always think the picture is there formed somehow,….you just have to discover it.

    • January 12, 2012 1:24 pm

      Karin Lynn, that is the perfect description about the picture being there to be discovered. It’s there . . . I know it is! 😉

  4. January 11, 2012 9:11 pm

    I love the color! but the texture is superior! We may get snow tonight so I will try to work here tomorrow if the roads are hazardous! Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • January 12, 2012 1:26 pm

      Mary Helen, be careful if it does get freezy out! A nice excuse to stay in the studio anyway.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

