Skip to content

Random Thoughts and Reconnections

January 7, 2012

Hidden Memory - Collage, 5x7"

This collage was one of the resulting pieces from my last demo of my intuitive collage process, but I never shown it on the blog until now. If this is your first time to read the post about the process, there are parts two and three right after that one.

And this next one is another one of those. I didn’t feel it was as successful as the rest at the time, and I guess that’s why I decided just to look at it for a while. I feel better about it now.

Reconnect - Collage, 5x5"

This is the original matrix, 24×30 inches, that provided the beginning compositions for these two collages and several more:

The process is described in detail in the three-part demo.

It’s interesting that these two collages “Hidden Memory” and “Reconnect” have titles that seem related, even though I didn’t scan the first one at the top of this post until just yesterday, and that’s when I titled it. I had forgotten about the second one until I was going through them tonight. An odd bit of reconnecting, wouldn’t you say?

And speaking of reconnecting, my annual emergence out into the local art community is coming up. I have received a prospectus in the mail for the juried show at the Kennedy Douglass Center For The Arts which happens in May. Since there is a lot of lead time, I’ve had ideas floating around in my head for what I will submit. Of course I have paintings that are fairly recent, but somehow it seems like an opportunity to do something new instead.

The show allows up to three pieces, and that invites all kinds of fantasizing about a series. It even woke me up a few nights ago, as I lay there in the dark having one idea after another. Don’t you hate when that happens? So I got up and did some art on the computer.

That led to thoughts of collage on the boxes that I usually paint on. Like these:

I have six of these just waiting for something to happen to them. Thinking more and more how much fun that would be. You won’t hear from me again about this until I decide what to do. But I’ll show you, I promise.

Have a great weekend.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. patq permalink
    January 7, 2012 10:17 am

    Hi Martha: I am so pleased at the reminder of your intuitive postings. I had read them initially, but enjoyed reading about the process again. I had always meant to try your method, but life got in the way. So now that is a New Year, I will step out to try a new method.
    What type of support did you use? You wrote acid free but is it illustration board, heavy watercolor paper, or a certain brand?
    Thank you so much for all you post and share. I am sure you will come up with great ideas for the new show this spring!
    pat q

    • January 7, 2012 12:36 pm

      Hi Pat! So glad you’re inspired to get going on some new work. The paper I used was a sheet of 25 lb. acid free bond paper that I have on a roll. I like the thinness of it, because after I create my collages I like to mount them on a heavy backing (usually 100 lb. watercolor paper or bristol board.) Usually I just glue them to the backing, but sometimes I like to iron them on using fusible web.

      I’m such a scrounger of freebies. That roll of paper was the remainder of a roll that had been taken out of a large format printer at an engineering firm where I worked 15 years ago! They closed their office and a whole bunch of stuff like that was up for grabs. 🙂

      But if you didn’t want to find printer paper on a roll, you can just buy banner paper or a big piece of butcher paper. I would have no qualms about using those as a backing for collage.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    January 7, 2012 11:49 am

    can’t wait to see those, and so glad you are going into the art scene there.margaret

  3. January 8, 2012 12:39 pm

    Both names are most apt, it shows they were meant to be in a series! Yes, you must do a series for you exhibition too. I often wake in the night with ideas. It’s sometimes good to work on them straight away, Inspiration comes when it will…..

    Off the subject a little, but I wondered if you or any of your readers might like to join me in this. I am so aware that I wouldn’t be able to ‘indulge’ my artistic talents and more if it hadn’t been for the women of the past.

    http://chittlechattle.wordpress.com/2012/01/08/international-womens-day-2/

    • January 8, 2012 1:06 pm

      Myfanwy, I agree wholeheartedly about honoring the creative urge whenever it comes! I’m on board with your International Women’s Day event. Sounds great!

  4. January 8, 2012 8:05 pm

    Tomorrow i am painting 6 canvases…small…immediate….and no I have no idea where I am going but the ride is exciting! peace, Mary helen Fernandez stewart

  5. January 10, 2012 7:01 am

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you decide to do for the show. Being new to your blog I really appreciated the visual journey in creating an initiative collage, very informative and inspirational, thank you.

    • January 10, 2012 8:45 am

      So glad you were inspired by the collage demo, Bren. I’m still tossing a lot of things up in the air about that show! We will see.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

