Skip to content

Smells Like Snow – New Collage

December 28, 2011

Smells Like Snow - Collage, 8x8"

Today was a chance to get back into the studio for a little while and it felt wonderful. The painted magazine pages are still my current favorite papers to work with. This one is titled “Smells Like Snow.” I love the smell of snow in the air on a cold cloudy day. We have had just one little snow flurry early in the month of December, but nothing since then – yet.

Yesterday I spent the entire day scanning more hand painted papers and various textural things that I could find, such as sequin waste, stencils with paint smudges, everything with a texture. All of these will go into my textures folder for making digital collage. There will be more of those to show very soon.

I hope you’re enjoying this relatively quiet week between holidays. It’s one of my favorite times of the year. People haven’t gotten back into their routines yet, and there are fewer demands. It’s a nice creative time. I hope it is for you too.

 

 

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2011 8:05 am

    Dear Martha, Thank you for visiting my blog. I haven’t thought the snow smell before… I wonder now… :) But to be honest, I haven’t been in snowy area… In my city, it snows but disappears soon… Your work fascinated me. This one really gives the image of snow, beauties of snow… There is a graceful touches too in this one… I loved it. Thank you, have a nice day, with my love, nia

    • December 29, 2011 8:29 am

      Nia, there is a fresh, clean, crisp smell in the air when snow clouds are gathering. Or if you haven’t heard that snow is forecast, but it looks like snow clouds, you can sometimes smell it. I can’t describe it any better than that, but I know it when it’s present. Glad you like the collage!

  2. December 29, 2011 11:26 am

    Yes, indeed, this is my favourite week of the year. The hassle of preparation is finished, and it’s just the last hours of the old year, with all the expectation that a new book can bring.

    Enjoy your snow when it comes. I’m hoping for none! I’ve already admitted being a wimp when it comes to snow. Like the evocative collage, though!

    • December 31, 2011 10:01 am

      Thanks, Myfanwy. We may not get any snow at all. Some years are like that. This one has been very mild so far! As for being a wimp, so am I. I don’t drive in it. I just resolve to stay home and live with whatever provisions I have.

  3. December 29, 2011 12:56 pm

    Beautiful art!!!

  4. December 29, 2011 8:34 pm

    I thought I was the only one who recognized and loved the smell of a snowy day. Your collection of materials for your digital work is growing by leaps and bounds. Enjoy the rest of 2011 and I look forward to having a fresh start in 2012. Blessings, Mary Helen

    • December 31, 2011 10:34 am

      Thank you Mary Helen – I’m glad I’m not the only one who can smell snow. Happy New Year to you!

  5. December 30, 2011 7:53 am

    Lovely texture and subtle shades of white/grey – beautiful Martha! I know the smell of snow and like you we have only had one flurry a few weeks ago.

    • December 31, 2011 10:36 am

      Thank you Marie Louise. Glad you like the collage! So now I’m feeling better that there are a lot of us who can smell snow. We must have similar weather patterns. Makes me wonder if we will get any this year.

  6. December 30, 2011 12:07 pm

    It hardly snows where we live and this week it’s raining with a vengeance. Your collage and the name make me feel wistful..

    • December 31, 2011 2:35 pm

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, Kerri. I’ve just left a comment on your blog. Love your work!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 583 other followers

