Skip to content

Monotypes Revisited

December 27, 2011

Hula - Acrylic Monotype on Paper

It must be a required ritual at the end of the year to go back through past works and see how I feel about them now. It’s been a long time since I looked at the little monotypes I did a few winters ago. I found them in a portfolio today and also found the scans still sitting on my computer.

Hip Hop - Acrylic Monotype on Paper, 4x4"

Surprisingly (or not) they seem fresh again. These are only 4×4″ but are printed on 11 x 14″ paper. I will definitely do more of these. I love the element of surprise provided by this process.

If you’re curious about any aspect of printmaking without a press, here is a post that I wrote in 2007 providing some helpful links.

Here’s part one of three of my demonstration, and it continues in the two following posts.

When I do more monotypes, I’ll write about them again.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2011 8:15 am

    WOW! You made me travel to the beautiful worlds… This is amazing. I haven’t any idea about monotypes, or monoprints etc. I noted all these links I want to search and learn. You did a wonderful art piece. I loved it. Thank you for sharing with us, you are such a nice artist. With my love, nia

    • December 29, 2011 8:26 am

      Oh, that is so nice of you, Nia. Thank you! I hope you will check out all the monotype and monoprint links and that you will be inspired or at least intrigued enough to try them. I plan to write more about them in future posts.

  2. December 29, 2011 11:28 am

    An interesting addition to collage. Look forward to seeing more.

    • December 31, 2011 10:04 am

      It’s funny, Myfanwy – I forget about certain little experiments until I come across the pieces again, which was the case with these. Then I want to do them again! 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

