Skip to content

On Having All You Need

December 20, 2011

Levitated - Collage, 5x5"

Here you can see more of that beautiful black Washi paper peeking through from the underneath layer in today’s collage. If I run out, this is one paper I would have to have more of.

Today was our 40th wedding anniversary. We spent it doing just as we pleased, and it was nice. Even had a glass of Champagne just before dinner to celebrate. I made Jim his favorite meal, Spaghetti Bolognese, with a big salad made with our home grown lettuce with made-from-scratch bleu cheese dressing, and home baked French bread. I know! Not good for the waistline, but what the heck. You only celebrate your 40th anniversary once.

Last night we were treated to dinner by my sister, and my niece and her husband joined us. My niece is an artist with cakes, so she surprised us with a beautiful, towering anniversary cake. It was their anniversary too just last week, so we had a joint celebration for the first time ever. It was so wonderful, and such a nice way to begin the holidays. Here we are before we demolished the top tier of the cake.

We are serving Christmas dinner here again this year, and this time have decided not to have people bring dishes. So I’ll be starting a couple of days ahead of time and do what I can before the big day.

We truly do not have huge celebrations. We prefer keeping a low profile for the most part. For a long time now, the two of us haven’t exchanged gifts. We long ago ended up with just about everything we could want, and we definitely have everything we need. That makes me sound like a Scrooge maybe, but I’m much more into the quiet contemplation and eager anticipation of a brand new year.

I wish you everything you need for the holidays and the new year.

 

22 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2011 1:55 am

    Happy 40th – may you enjoy many more happy years together.

  2. December 20, 2011 7:42 am

    Hi Martha,
    I so agree with you on the low profile type of celebrating. It sounds that we’re are pretty much in similar circumstances with regard to having enough… Have a wonderful Christmas and a very prosperous ( in the sense of well being) new Year. Thanks also for your ongoing inspiration.
    Regina
    Sint Maarten DWI

    • December 20, 2011 10:56 am

      Thank you so much, Regina. I do have a strong sense of contentment with what we have. It’s never been about money or things after all! Have a great holiday and a wonderful new year!

  3. December 20, 2011 7:57 am

    Congratulations to you both on 40 years! The cake looks wonderful 🙂

    • December 20, 2011 10:58 am

      Thank you, Lauren! And yes, the cake was wonderful. That icing had white chocolate in it — what’s not to like! 😉

  4. December 20, 2011 11:11 am

    Congratulations to you both. 40 years is a milestone. We celebrated last year.

    Here’s to many more years of togetherness for you.

    • December 20, 2011 11:40 am

      Thank you, Myfanwy! I’m so glad we still enjoy each other’s company. We’re together much more now than ever before! And in even closer quarters! 🙂

  5. December 20, 2011 2:20 pm

    Nice post. Congrats on 40. My husband and I just celebrated 45 years and it hardly seems possible. Don’t you remember when your parents were married 25 years and we thought that meant they were old? I still figure we got lots of zip and spunk. Have a wonderful Christmas dinner. I am like you and like to make the meal myself and then, when I go to their home a I thoroughly enjoy the treat of not making the meal. Nothing but best wishes to your family to have a wonderful time together…..

    • December 20, 2011 3:41 pm

      Karin Lynn, you are so right! It does hardly seem possible that we’ve been together for 40 years. Seems like I just turned around and here we are! I’m looking forward to the dinner, but also love to have someone else cook for me too! Happy holidays!

  6. December 20, 2011 5:50 pm

    I think it’s an age thing Martha. Next year we will have out 40th anniversary too. I feel I have a wonderful life and can’t imagine any concrete thing that I need to make me feel better. I’d say it’s a great place to be. Have a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

    • December 20, 2011 7:42 pm

      Margaret, it is a great place to be! Thank you, and I hope you enjoy your holiday too!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

