Skip to content

If Walls Could Talk

December 20, 2011

If Walls Could Talk - Collage, 5x5"

This collage is another one from the series incorporating black Washi paper. Would you believe that just as the holiday season is cranking up into full gear, all I want to do is get out there in my studio and just make art? Yes, I think you would. But that kind of time is going to have to wait till next week after all the festivities are over. Maybe I can duck out there early tomorrow morning. It would make me feel so much better to just play with my beautiful papers, if only for a little bit.

Meanwhile, today was the day for another road trip to buy groceries for the holidays. I always love going through the little communities along the way, and finally managed to stop and photograph this little church beside the road.

I went to churches like this when I was young. And I do know that there was plenty for the walls to talk about if they could. My grandfather was a Southern Methodist preacher, a great practical joker, a quick wit, and teller of outlandish tales. Stories of my grandfather live on to this day. I see old churches like this and they always make me smile.

The next one is another old building I’d been wanting to photograph. This was taken from a moving car. This little structure is tiny and has been sitting there abandoned for many years. I think it has great character. I wonder what stories these walls could tell.

 

It wasn’t apparent until today after our road trip that the collage shown above echoes images along the the roadside and the buildings from today. So I titled it accordingly.

I hope you get some time this week to make some art.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 21, 2011 8:21 am

    i love it when you have your photos, the cement block structure is way cool, and the wooden one although much older is more modern looking go figure. hope you have a grand and artful christmas.margaret

    • December 21, 2011 9:58 am

      Margaret, there are so many beautiful pictures to take around here. One day I’m going to go out just for a photo day. Merry Christmas!

  2. patq permalink
    December 21, 2011 8:58 am

    Enjoyed your new collage and the pictures of the older weathered buildings. I too am drawn to buildings with character, texture and the stories of the past.
    Enjoy the festivities. Happy Holidays Martha.
    Pat q

    • December 21, 2011 9:59 am

      Thanks, Pat. Stories are a big thing in the South, as they are everywhere. But southerners seem to try extra hard to keep them going. And I seem to be more and more drawn to things “with a past” because I guess . . . well I now have one! 🙂 Happy Holidays to you!

  3. December 21, 2011 10:29 am

    Martha, I always enjoy your collage art and these old buildings are wonderful-I’m sure the walls would have many good stories to tell. Also, congratulations on your 40th Anniversary! I loved seeing the picture. Merry Christmas to you and your family!

  4. December 23, 2011 8:33 am

    Thanks for sharing your journey with you. I really like your moving photos too.

    • December 23, 2011 9:20 pm

      Glad you enjoyed coming along, Myfanwy. I love all the little roads and fields and aging structures.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

