Skip to content

In a Black Kind of Mood (But Not in a Bad Way)

December 13, 2011

Something More - Collage, 5x5"

I have scanned in some new collages, one of which is shown above. Lately I’m noticing that I gravitate toward large amounts of black in my imagery. It’s been said that black signifies mystery, drama, and sophistication. For my newest collages, I’ve chosen lots of black Washi paper, the kind with little bits of metallic threads running through it. To me, it’s a delicious paper. This collage also has light brown Washi paper, baked parchment, and hand painted paper.

More of my recent collages which are dominated by black include . . .

"Winter Revisited" - Collage, 8 x 8" on 14 x 11" Art Paper

Things I Didn't Notice - Collage, 8x8"

Storm's Aftermath - Collage, 5 x 5"

Just a few examples. I’m liking this palette more and more.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2011 6:00 am

    Lovely textures

  2. December 16, 2011 2:35 am

    I love landscapes in winter. This year I have noticed that there is more green, it’s odd. I commented as such to my DH last weekend. I like them all, but the last one is my favourite. I’ve popped it on pinterest…..

    • December 17, 2011 6:31 am

      Myfanwy, I remember seeing some of your photographs of the landscapes you see when you’re on the road. They are amazing. We moved from Florida almost three years ago, and it’s amazing to see real season changes now after such a long time living in the sub tropics. And it seems the seasons are just a little different each time. The color changes in fall depend on so many factors, and I suppose the green that we’re seeing now as well.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

