Skip to content

Simple and Complicated

December 6, 2011

Simple Things - Collage, 5x5"

This title says pretty much everything about how I like to work most of the time. Keep it simple and spontaneous, work fast, don’t think too much. I’m enjoying this exploration for now.

There was a time when I loved complicating things, using a lot of pattern and decoration. Sometimes I’m tempted to go there again. If you like intricate patterns, you might like these links that were brought to my attention by my friend Margaret Conte.

Check out Zentangle and then their YouTube Channel. I hope you enjoy these as much as I did.

This makes me want to do more doodles. I enjoyed doing those so much, and still like to look through them. Note: The collage from yesterday has a piece of one of those same doodles, and the one above has another piece, just a snippet of the same one.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 10:01 am

    I too am torn between the simple & the complicated. Working on the former, resisting the latter. but also recently ran across a Zentangle mention, and remembered my love of doodling. I’m thinking it could be a good layer option in my collages… I love the sparks of inspiration I get here, Martha! The path of creativity is not a straight line, that’s for sure.

    • December 7, 2011 11:54 am

      So true, Liz! Every day I’m inspired by the great creative energy that’s so easily accessed by networking, looking at Pinterest boards, YouTube, and on and on.

      I forget to doodle and wish I could work it into my morning coffee time. And I agree that it would be a great thing to keep and layer into paintings, collage, etc. Easily scanned too!

  2. December 7, 2011 10:02 am

    Martha,

    If you are looking for more ZT patterns, you can subscribe to http://tanglepatterns.com/ this will give you plenty to work with.

    Enjoy the holiday season!

    😀 eirdre

    • December 7, 2011 11:51 am

      Thank you Deirdre! I will definitely do that, but am afraid I’m going to get addicted. Such fun stuff! Happy holidays to you and your family too.

  3. December 16, 2011 5:51 am

    Isn’t it strange. Years ago I used to doodle like that all the time. It just came naturally and I did it because it was fun. Then all of a sudden someone gave it a name – and it wasn’t fun any more. Now it was judged as being what someone else did….. so I stopped.

    Was I wrong? I don’t know, but I haven’t done it in years.

    • December 17, 2011 6:38 am

      Oh! You had the same reaction? I really didn’t know the name existed until now, but have done similar doodles over the years. I know what you mean.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.