Skip to content

Guided By the Process

December 5, 2011

Random Acts - Collage, 5x5"

Alice came to a fork in the road.  “Which road do I take?” she asked.
“Where do you want to go?” responded the Cheshire cat.
“I don’t know,” Alice answered.
“Then,” said the cat, “it doesn’t matter.”
~Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

Begin at the beginning and go on till you come to the end; then stop.  ~Lewis Carrol, Alice in Wonderland

This describes eloquently how I approach my art.  I don’t start out with an idea of where I want to go. I want to be guided by the process itself.

Or as I said in a previous post about painting  . . .

 “It feels like a risky way to paint — like driving fast without a road map, but still relying on a general sense of direction born of years of experience. Still, it’s possible to take a completely wrong road and the painting is lost in an instant. White knuckle painting.”

How about you?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2011 3:38 am

    I use the same approach when working and I like that I don’t know where I’ll end up. Similar to being an explorer, going into uncharted territory – it’s both scary and exhilarating at the same time.
    ML

    • December 6, 2011 6:30 am

      Marie Louise, the exhilarating part outweighs the scary part, right? The unknown is where the good stuff is!

  2. December 6, 2011 3:51 am

    Love the red showing under the white mark making, and the strong black area top left. Juicy.

  3. December 6, 2011 10:29 am

    That’s where the good stuff is. You have to be brave 🙂

    • December 6, 2011 10:59 am

      Isn’t it funny, Janet, how we artists can be so timid at times? What are we afraid of anyway? Well, I have to admit I still get scared when trying to promote myself face to face with galleries, etc., but even in our own studios we still freeze up when confronting a huge white canvas.

  4. December 6, 2011 3:23 pm

    Yes it outweighs it by far! It’s quite a ride and highly addictive! 🙂

  5. December 6, 2011 9:46 pm

    I too paint by ” the seat of my pants.”….never knowing where I am going or where I will end up. Isn’t that the way we are supposed to paint?…..open….without judgement….

    • December 6, 2011 10:32 pm

      I couldn’t agree more, Karin Lynn. I’m sure it doesn’t work for a lot of the more precise ways of working, which have their place too. But for me, no way!

  6. December 16, 2011 5:58 am

    I know why I love your blog. Your process is similar to mine, and that means you give me confirmation. Thanks for being there. I’ve really enjoyed following you over the past months. Keep it up.

    • December 17, 2011 6:39 am

      Myfanwy, trust me, you and many others are the only reason I keep going. It’s a wonderful positive feedback loop, isn’t it? Thank you for being here.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

