Skip to content

New Collage With Recycled Papers

December 2, 2011

What They Haven't Told Us - Collage with Baked Parchment, Citra Solv Papers, and Painted Deli Papers

Three different types of papers were used in this collage: painted magazine papers, Citra Solv papers, and a piece of baked parchment from underneath a loaf of home baked bread.

When it comes to making art, nothing gets thrown out until I decide whether or not it’s usable. As time goes on, I’m enjoying more and more the challenge of making something from materials of humble beginnings, rather than manufactured art supplies. Part of it is the creative challenge, and the other part of it is my deep concern for the environment. Don’t we have enough “stuff” already?

A Mosaic of Collages

I was so inspired by the very talented artist Cat Storey’s blog post about a completed project in which she created art every day for a month and posted it to her blog. At the end of her project and in this post, she shows a mosaic of the resulting work.

After seeing hers, I wanted to create one of my own. This is just a screen shot of my collage set on flickr. Kind of fun to see a whole array of different images together. Still, I think I like Cat’s better!

Mosaic of Some Collages Created 2010-2011

Have a great weekend. I hope it includes some time outdoors and some time for art!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 2, 2011 9:53 pm

    You’re so sweet, but I like yours better–it really looks great! Someone called mine a “quilt,” though, and I liked that–don’t you?

    • December 3, 2011 7:06 am

      I do like that, Cat! My favorite quilts are the charm quilts in which every little square is unique. Thank you – glad you liked my “quilt!”

  2. December 3, 2011 10:13 am

    Very cool, Martha! I love the idea of using used parchment paper in a collage. The collage set is awesome – I would love to try some mixed media pieces like this, but my artistic abilities don’t appear to extend to creating “something out of little bits of unrelated nothings”, as it were.

    • December 3, 2011 3:47 pm

      Sonya, glad you like the thumbnail mosaic. I think you might enjoy just playing around with some collage. It took me a very long time to decide how to approach it. The best way for my purposes is just not to let myself “think” too much. It’s very much a right brain activity for me.

  3. December 4, 2011 11:46 am

    A wonderful and playful mosaic of collages – looks great together, but I’m sure each piece shines on its own!

  4. Janice permalink
    July 29, 2012 3:35 pm

    I am new to your blog and to some of the types of Art but it has given me an idea! I am leaving in a few days for a month in MX. I am going to use index cards and make a collage
    everyday day out of whatever I find on the street each day. I will end up with 31 cards but they will be small enough to carry along with a glue stick & gel. I wish I knew how to start a Blog! I’ll find a way to let you know how it’s going.
    Thank you and all your contributers for inspiration.
    Janice

    • July 29, 2012 3:50 pm

      Janice, that sounds so exciting! You can do a blog — it’s very easy. I’d suggest Blogger. I think it’s the most user friendly. Feel free to email me if you decide to try it and hit a snag. Best to you in your travel and collage adventure!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

