Skip to content

Recycled Papers in Collage

December 1, 2011

Terrain - Collage, 5x5"

 

You are not going to believe what the most unusual paper is in this collage. I baked a loaf of sourdough bread a couple of weeks ago, and the pan was lined with parchment paper. The only thing is that the parchment had already been used before and I was recycling it. Of course I was not about to throw it out.

So what happened was that the used parchment began to brown in the oven and when I took the bread out, I thought the paper was a beautiful piece for more collage.

The broccoli survived the cold last night with its nice snug covering, and even my lettuce made it through without any special treatment. So far so good.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2011 8:30 pm

    I really love this one–great shades of blue and green (my favs). And the effect on the parchment paper looks so cool, like a sun flare but in sepia.

    • December 2, 2011 12:31 pm

      Thanks Cat. When I took that bread out of the oven and saw the paper, I immediately grabbed it for the paper stack!

  2. December 1, 2011 9:31 pm

    I love that you used the recycled parchment paper! It’s fabulous and beautiful! I just recently started experimenting with collage, and I am hooked! When I opened up a container of medium gel the other day, it had a seal of foil on it that I quickly added to the collage I was working on! I guess the saying that beauty is in the eye of the beholder is so true… one man’s trash is another man’s (or woman’s) treasure. 😉

  3. December 3, 2011 2:32 pm

    What a neat idea, Martha. I would never have guess the brown was recycled, baked parchment paper. You have the most interesting ideas for collage work! I keep thinking I’ll incorporate paper into my encaustics but I’m never sure how I’d like to proceed. The words “just do it” come to mind… 🙂

    • December 3, 2011 3:43 pm

      Well Stephanie, I haven’t done encaustic incorporating paper, but I’m sure it would be very forgiving — even more so than gluing. I’d love to try it!

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

