Skip to content

Collaborating With a Young Artist

November 23, 2011

My 2-1/2-year-old granddaughter is here for Thanksgiving, and yesterday we decided to do some art. I thought she might like to do some collage, so I got out all the papers, especially choosing a variety of small snippets that I thought she’d enjoy. As I was getting everything together, she said “I need glue sticks!” in a rather commanding way. Glue sticks it was.

She and I both enjoyed our time doing collage. The choice and placement of the pieces were completely hers. Here are three.

You can immediately see that we played with my paper punches and pinking shears a little bit. She loved that, but crumpled up her punched-out pieces after doing them each time, until I explained to her that she could use them making some art. For her it was all about the process.

The art process tonight and tomorrow will be all about food and family time. I will try to be back here one more time on Friday before signing off for the rest of the weekend.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 6:11 pm

    Me thinks Piper has the artist gene! Happy to you and yours!

  2. November 23, 2011 8:39 pm

    Those are so cool – and I’m amazed at how all three of them have that strong diagonal bottom right to top left!

    Have a great thanksgiving Martha!

    • November 24, 2011 4:35 am

      Aren’t kids’ creations fun? I noticed the diagonal direction too, which I thought was interesting. Happy Turkey Day, Candy!

  3. Anonymous permalink
    November 23, 2011 9:08 pm

    Looks like your granddaughter takes after her grandmother at two years old! very nice collages. Laura

  4. November 23, 2011 9:20 pm

    Lovely collaborations and happy Thanksgiving Blessings. Peace, Mary Helen

  5. November 23, 2011 11:07 pm

    Like 🙂

  6. November 24, 2011 12:07 am

    you gotta love that … ‘its all about the process’ … Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Martha … >>> Gina

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

