Skip to content

New Collage – Dollhouse Graffiti

November 17, 2011

Dollhouse Graffiti - Collage, 5x5"

Still having fun with painted magazine pages. Not only that, having a great time with Adobe Illustrator as well.

I guess I should have warned you before hitting you with all that color at once! So out of character for me, don’t you think? But I’m learning and playing and having a blast.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2011 9:50 am

    Martha,

    Love the new color in the Adobe Illustrator pieces. Door openers for the future I think. Never thought of using Adobe Illustrator as a paint program. Have to experiment with that.

    Recently downloaded/installed latest version of GIMP. I now can freely move between GIMP, Adobe Photoshop, and Corel Photopaint with the same file (work on the same file using the different paint filters etc featured in each of these programs). Why? For some reason Adobe will allow GIMP and Corel Photopaint to work with Adobe PSD files. And… because each program has filters the other doesn’t. Sweet!!!!!

    The more I read your blog on a daily basis the more I feel guilty for not using my blog. Haven’t made an entry there in over a year. Bad me! Good starter for a New Years Resolution I think.

    Later,
    David

    • November 18, 2011 5:19 pm

      David, it’s nice to know you’re there reading. I love having different art programs too. They all have their pluses. I miss my Corel PhotoPaint with the plugins I had purchased. But it went away with my big clunker PC that I gave to my grandson. Re the Illustrator: It’s easier than it seems at first glance. The secret is blends and taking advantage of the transparency modes. There are some great online tutorials. I’ll go through the steps to do just one kind of effect and realize I can use it lots of other ways.

      Check out this site: http://vector.tutsplus.com/ Lots of tips and tricks for making vectors. And of course once you get your vectors saved, you can then place them into PhotoShop art, etc. and play around with them even more. Fun stuff!

  2. November 18, 2011 3:25 pm

    Love the collage – the colours are so subtle. And love the two digital pieces for exactly the opposite reason! As for poor puss and the vacuum cleaner; she has Faith’s sympathy. Our vacuum cleaner is very shrill and when our cleaning lady gets it out Faith heads for Grandma’s bed…

    • November 18, 2011 5:20 pm

      Thanks, Cath! I feel so bad for kitties (and dogs too) when they don’t understand all those big noises.

  3. November 18, 2011 10:06 pm

    WOW what a color blast but I can tell you are playing well with your new tools. How is the cat in a house of crazy dogs doing today? Blessings, Mary Helen

    • November 18, 2011 10:15 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the color blast, Mary Helen! Thanks for asking – the kitty is much better today. I was afraid she wouldn’t speak to me again, but she was in my lap by evening.

  4. November 24, 2011 11:31 am

    Colour! Yummmmmmmmmmmm

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

