Skip to content

Winter 4, Collage

November 11, 2011

Winter 4

This is another digital experiment using scanned handmade papers, doodles, and imagery from an old book. Everything is scanned at very high resolution, therefore it will easily print up to 36 x 48 inches (Although I think something a little smaller would work better.)

I’ve done a few more of these and will show them when I get time.

Yesterday we had one of our frequent after-school visits from my 9-year-old buddy Eli from next door. You may recall that he and I sometimes do art together. Supper was on the stove, and he asked if we could do some art. So I brought out some of my collage stuff and put it on the kitchen table. I also brought a stack of his painting experiments and explained to him that he could use any of my collage papers he wanted, or that he might like to use his own painted pieces. His choice was to use his own papers. While he was working, I made my collage that was posted here yesterday.

I don’t have a picture of Eli’s collage right now, but I’ll ask him for permission to show it. I showed him how to use my viewfinder trick and trim it to size. Then I mounted it for him on an 8×10 backing so it can be put into a standard frame. It turned out great, and he was happy with it. I need to ask permission to show it on here, because he wants to give it to his grandmother and it might be a surprise — I’m not sure about that part.

Then he stayed for supper.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 11, 2011 8:01 am

    that sounds like a really fun martha day.margaret

    • November 11, 2011 10:53 am

      It was for sure, Margaret! How does it happen that even when I don’t have grandkids around I find someone else’s (or they find me?)

  2. November 11, 2011 8:26 pm

    What a wonderful day you had! This image is so well grounded. I’m enjoying the composition a lot.

    Looking forward to Eli’s work, should he wish to share, and more of yours!

  3. November 12, 2011 4:08 am

    Making art with children is a joy, and his memories of these moments will be lifelong.

    • November 12, 2011 4:09 am

      and I forgot to say that the collage doesn’t look digital. Love the textures.

    • November 12, 2011 6:21 am

      Yes, I think they will be, Myfanwy. Kids who come here sort of automatically know we are going to be involved with cooking, gardening, or art! 😉

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

