Skip to content

A New Collage Experiment

November 9, 2011

Xs and Os - Collage, 5x5"

Today I spent a couple of hours scanning various papers and textures at high resolution, in preparation for creating some large digital collages. I don’t know how it will go yet, but it should work.

I had a collage teacher who used to create a normal-size collage (say 8×10 inches) and then reproduce it very large on canvas. This involved scanning the original individual papers, enlarging those and printing them out, and actually collaging them onto the canvas. That process always intrigued me, but I never got around to trying it. It always impressed me as very exacting and time consuming.

I think my way of creating the collage digitally sounds easier.

This little collage is 5×5 inches. I don’t think I could reproduce it larger because of the subtle paint effects, but it would be fun to try.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Cat @ sea.sky.stone. permalink
    November 10, 2011 12:54 am

    Very nice! I love the pop of red almost as much as I love the perfect title 🙂

  2. November 10, 2011 5:25 am

    Thank you, Cat! I had fun doing this one.

  3. patq permalink
    November 10, 2011 9:48 am

    Hi MarthaL I love the neutral colors with the red accent. Think the title perfect. Thanks for sharing.
    Pat q

    • November 10, 2011 12:22 pm

      Thanks, Pat! I had a 9-yr.-old sidekick with me last night when I created this one. I’ll have to write in my next post about it.

  4. November 11, 2011 4:51 pm

    Hi, I do Digital Collage on my computer a lot. I use many differing programs but mostly I use Corel products like PhotoPaint and Painter 11, CorelDRAW. I too have a blog where I share my work and techniques. I really enjoy your collage work.

    Thanks for sharing your work and ideas.

    • November 11, 2011 6:57 pm

      Thank you for stopping by, Kirk. I’ve been looking at your art on your blog and it is great fun!

  5. November 12, 2011 4:11 am

    I like the ‘stitching’ on the red. The added texture is just perfect.

  6. November 12, 2011 8:46 pm

    Hi Martha!

    So fun. Love the circles – I think that’s sort of a new element for you?

    It’s always so great to try different processes to get the artist juices flowing! Looks like you’re having fun with the new challenge!

    • November 13, 2011 4:46 am

      Well Jennifer, I do love circles. I have 1-1/2″ paper punches for squares and circles. Sometimes I punch out a few and save them up. Then I realized the punched surrounding pieces looked cool to, so I saved some of those as well. That collage has a piece of “negative punched” paper with two holes. 🙂

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

