Skip to content

Busy Day Painting with Pixels

November 7, 2011

Wetland - Digital Painting

This is another digital painting that is created for a very large format print. You could call it a companion piece to the one that I showed in my last post.

A common misconception about digital art is that the art was created by a computer. That is not the case at all. Every single stroke that you see in this image was created by hand. The only difference is that there aren’t any paints to clean up. It’s much kinder to the environment.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2011 9:56 pm

    WOW, I really like this piece. I’m very curious about the program you used? I like the texture, colors, flow, everything about this. Looks very much like a watercolor.

    • November 9, 2011 4:02 am

      Thank you, Judy. My favorite program for painting is Photoshop Elements, which is what I used for this one. My new favorite might become Corel Painter, which I’ve just recently installed and have been working with as well. There are a couple of features that Corel Painter has that Elements does not. The problem for me with Corel Painter so far is that it isn’t as powerful in handling the huge files.

      Anyway, bottom line is that you can make pixels look like anything at all — watercolor, oils, and a million different textures. You just have to experiment – a lot!

  2. November 12, 2011 4:15 am

    Beautiful.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

