Skip to content

Brush With The Bridge

October 28, 2011

Cliffs - Collage, 5x5"

Well, it’s decided. Tomorrow morning my husband Jim and I will head down to the Old Railroad Bridge to participate in a day of art inspired by the incredible views of fall color on the Tennessee river. I didn’t know about this until I opened up this morning’s local paper, but I couldn’t resist. Who could?

Billed as Brush With the Bridge, it’s an annual event that’s designed to attract artists and art lovers from all around our area. Tomorrow is forecast to be a brisk sunny fall day, perfect for an abundance of peak fall color everywhere. I’ll gather up a plein air kit, my camera, warm clothing, and maybe a thermos of hot chocolate. I’ll let you know what it’s like. It should be fun.

Here is today’s collage. I hope you like it.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2011 10:14 pm

    Looking forward to reading about it–sounds like the perfect day!

    • October 28, 2011 10:35 pm

      I’m actually pretty excited about it, Cat. Will definitely give a report on my experience.

  2. October 28, 2011 10:28 pm

    I like this one a lot. You’ll have a great time at Brush with the Bridge. I did a plein air event this summer… great fun! Have you ever done collage en plein aire? That would be interesting.

    • October 28, 2011 10:34 pm

      Wow, Jo – I hadn’t thought of that, but I’m sure it would be fun to try it. We’ll see what tomorrow brings!

  3. October 29, 2011 12:33 am

    Oh that sounds like a great way to spend the day Martha. I shall be thinking of you and imagining the brush strokes going swish, swish with that confidences I see in your work. Wishing the most wonderful time.

  4. October 29, 2011 7:46 am

    What a perfect day. Can’t wait to see how the autumn colour inspires you, and the company of fellow artists too.

    Yes, I do like the collage 🙂

  5. October 30, 2011 2:25 am

    I particularly love this one.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

