Skip to content

Art AsTherapy

October 21, 2011

Sizzle Factor - Collage, 5x5"

I feel so lucky that I get to do art every day. Making art is definitely therapy for me, and I don’t take this lightly. Conventional therapy can be expensive, and its outcomes can be unpredictable. But I’m in control of this kind of therapy.

I can tell  immediately when it’s lifting me out of the depressing news and stresses of the day, and putting me right smack in the middle of the present moment.

It gives me a feeling of mastery and control over my world, if only for a brief time.

Like any other form of meditation, it’s a way to bring everything in my mental and physical world into balance.

I may not notice at the time, but its benefits carry over into my everyday life and enrich my spirit.

This collage is one more in a series of pieces that I’m working on using my own hand painted papers.

 

 

 

 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2011 9:34 pm

    You voiced what I’ve been trying to put to words in my own life recently. You’re so right about how art draws us towards the present moment, and how therapeutic that can be. It’s helping me through a difficult year, for sure.

    • October 22, 2011 6:05 am

      Cat, it really has been true for me. I stopped feeling depressed years ago when art became an everyday part of my life. Thanks for taking the time to stop by and comment. I love your blog.

  2. October 21, 2011 10:04 pm

    True words and well written. Art is very good for the heart and soul.

    • October 22, 2011 11:52 am

      Ramona, it’s never let me down. I’ve been a much happier person since I started doing art full time. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. October 22, 2011 3:36 am

    Gorgeous papers and collage Martha. It is interesting that you mention art as therapy and also meditation. I wonder if the goal might be similar – to get to know oneself in the present moment?

    It is late here. I went to bed at decent hour but couldn’t sleep. I like slipping by friends posts at these times. I find it comforting. Possibly another form of therapy I suppose 🙂

    • October 22, 2011 11:54 am

      Terrill, I definitely think that art can be a form of meditation, and the present moment is the wonderful result. I think reading blogs is great therapy too! 😉

  4. patq permalink
    October 22, 2011 3:58 pm

    thanks for filling me on staples. It does give a 3 D effect.

    • October 22, 2011 7:58 pm

      Yes, Pat — I like the 3D look! Of course that could be expanded on with all kinds of cool effects. 3D could be part of the collage by putting something behind an element to give it more dimension.

  5. October 23, 2011 12:47 am

    Couldn’t agree more Martha. If I stop making things I get tired and grouchy. Sometimes it takes me a while to realise what the problem is … slow learner!

  6. October 23, 2011 8:42 am

    I agree. Sometimes I wonder why humans should need such a thing, but us creatives are lucky to have the artist therapy.

    And, journal writing – I didn’t take that seriously until a couple of years ago – boy! that can really do wonders to work you through your troubles.

    Hope you came away with some great art today.

    • October 23, 2011 10:29 am

      Jennifer, journal writing isn’t something I’ve done for a good many years. I’ve thought about it a lot lately, and may try to start it up again. I did morning pages for a while, as recommended in The Artist’s Way. It seemed to help me a lot at the time.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

