Skip to content

I Think I Dreamed It

October 20, 2011

I Think I Dreamed It - Collage, 8x8"

This is the latest in a series of collages that I’ve been creating from painted magazine pages. There still are more floating around in my imagination, or in my dreams. I love how these pages take on a new life almost like magic with just some streaks and smears of paint.

But right after I created this collage, I couldn’t stop. I began to mix some of my painted deli wrap papers and and assortment of other painted papers with the magazine pages and got some very exciting and promising results. I kept going, and before I knew it it was time to shut down for the day and make dinner. There’s always something to spoil my fun.

Here’s a peek at some of the more colorful ones I’ve been working on. I hope you enjoy this change of pace!

This one is done exclusively with the painted deli papers. I like their translucency and softness.

Strata - Collage, 5x5"

The next one is made up of a whole assortment of smallish scraps of painted papers. The overall gradient rose and orange background is a piece from a magazine page that was painted over lightly with some white brush strokes, plus a few squiggles with an ebony pencil.

In The Loop - Collage, 5x5"

There are more of these to come with lots of contrasting color and pattern. I still lean toward the muted color, rough texture, organic feel, and limited palette. But the more colorful ones are a fun way to keep things interesting.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 8:30 pm

    I love “Strata.” Really well done. It feels so landscape. I’ve never seen this use of papers quite this way. Very successful.

    And, “I Think I Dreamed It,” is stunning.

    • October 20, 2011 10:00 pm

      Thank you so much, Melinda! I’m very happy you like these, and glad you stopped in.

  2. October 23, 2011 1:53 pm

    Lovely. I like the clean lines of the first, and the colour is such fun. Sadly the deli papers here aren’t quite the same, but I’m finding new ground and things to do.

  3. October 24, 2011 11:26 am

    Strata is especially beautiful. It’s that horizontal orientation that got my attention- and the colors, of course.
    “But right after I created this collage, I couldn’t stop.” Don’t you love when that happens!

    • October 24, 2011 4:30 pm

      I do love that, Stephanie! Not too many chances to actually obey that urge, unfortunately. It was great fun! Glad you like the collage.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

