Skip to content

A Perfect Day

October 19, 2011

As I sat in my office before daylight this morning, I could see an incredible pink glow coming through the window, so I grabbed my camera to get some shots of this beautiful sunrise. “Sky’s red in the morning, sailors take warning” my mother used to say. And sure enough, we had a nice little thunderstorm later in the day.

I almost didn’t make it to the blog tonight, due to a very busy but fun-filled day. In addition to working a few hours on some new digital projects, I took occasional breaks to feed my new sourdough starter, look through some old cookbooks for new inspiration, peek at the dough rising in a big steel bowl, and walk through the garden to see what’s going on out there.

The squirrels had paid a visit again, but they seem to have abandoned their scorched earth policy. Just a few leaves chewed off here and there, and nibble marks on a few more. They’re now more preoccupied with acorns, which is a great thing. And I managed to shoot one of them . . . well, not in the way you may be thinking:

And I noticed my little Clematis vine has finally given me a gorgeous bloom.

After a beginning like this, I knew it just had to be a perfect day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2011 2:28 am

    Oh my goodness! That little delinquent looks like the cousin to a few dozen we have in our yard! πŸ™‚

    Very lovely photos and the flower looks like it was worth waiting for.

  2. October 21, 2011 5:15 pm

    My goodness he’s a brazen wee thing! Miss Mouse-killer caught another one (that the cat let loose in the house…) the other night. I wonder if air-freight would work? πŸ˜‰

  3. October 24, 2011 2:10 pm

    LOL, good shot of the offending creature. That is such a stunning sunrise. Beautiful

    • October 24, 2011 4:34 pm

      It was such a nice sunrise. Glad I was awake enough to capture it, as well as the squirrel! πŸ˜‰

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

