Skip to content

New Collage – The Tenacity of Roots

October 17, 2011

The Tenacity of Roots - Collage, 8x8"

Roots and I have had a standoff today. I’ve pulled some of the grass from the vegetable garden walkways, but it’s never all of it. So I just worked until I got tired of that. Then there were the beds where we had our field peas. Those were easy to pull out, and almost a pleasure to do. What did take time, however, was unwinding and pulling out the tendrils from the trellises. I felt that if I left them there to dry I’d never get them out. I’ve planted onions in some of the newly-refurbished beds.

The grass and the squirrels might be tenacious, but so am I. I’ve replaced the collard greens and cabbages that the squirrels destroyed, and have now poured tons of cayenne pepper on the beds around them. My fingers are crossed that I get at least a share in my fall garden.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 11:02 am

    Hi Martha,
    Very dynamic, love this, of course I had to Pin it! I always look forward toward your news!
    Best, Sondra

    • October 18, 2011 12:52 pm

      Thank you, Sondra. You are too generous! I appreciate that you like them enough to pin them. 😉

  2. October 18, 2011 4:06 pm

    Ahh right i knew I was suppose to be doing something other than painting. Garden is definitely lacking attention! Loving your collage…very nice work. Thanks for the matting tutorial! Need to also get on that…so much to do:)) Julie

    • October 19, 2011 12:07 am

      Thank you, Julie. Appreciate your stopping by and taking the time to comment. There definitely aren’t enough hours in the day/week to get everything done that we want to do. It’s a balancing act sometimes.

  3. October 18, 2011 4:10 pm

    Loving the higher contrast in these lates pieces Marth – both this one and ‘Limited Exposure’ especially.

  4. October 18, 2011 8:51 pm

    The cayenne powder should do the trick with your pesky squirrels and garden thieves. I do love the tenacity of the roots analogy …this composition is so strong. Peace, Mary Helen Fernandez Stewart

    • October 19, 2011 12:18 am

      I hope so, Mary Helen. Plus, I noticed today that they had torn some leaves off a few things, but were mostly preoccupied with all the acorn bounty in my neighbor’s yard. A much better way for them to occupy themselves.

      Glad you like the collage and title!

  5. October 24, 2011 2:00 pm

    Love the streaks in this. So much visual texture

    • October 24, 2011 4:34 pm

      Thank you, Myfanwy! I am so enjoying the printed pages as a basis for painted papers.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

