Skip to content

A Little Paint and The Perfect Tee

October 12, 2011

A Little Paint

. . . well, a lot of paint. Today I poured some paint on the now-infamous perennial work in progress. I am determined for it to be something completely different from what it was before. Is that allowed? I should be letting it be what it wants to be. Today a little of that energy happened finally. I think. I had made the black and white pours, then dried those a little. On top of that I poured a puddle of some rich and delicious Quinacridone Burnt Orange that had been mixed with some polymer medium. I wanted to flatten out the puddle by pressing it down with a piece of heavy paper. But my results were less than thrilling when I pulled up the paper. But the effect that happened on the paper was wonderful, so I let that dry and then collaged the painted portion face up right into the wet paint. This is the result of my experimentation, and I think I can bring it to a happy resolution after everything dries. I’ll want to tidy up the edges of the paper to make sure they’re adhered well, and then I’ll probably re-work the negative areas. After all that, I’ll apply a heavy coat of self-leveling clear gel.

The Perfect T-Shirt

If you’ve been reading about my squirrel drama for the past few days, you’ll know that I’ve found the perfect T-Shirt. Take a look. You can click on the image for purchase information.

Chewed Cabbage Leaves

The squirrels yanked out two of my young cauliflower plants this morning before I could get out there. They are moving from one bed to another just creating general destruction. I brought the plants in, washed them well, shredded the leaves,  and put them in a big pot of vegetable soup this afternoon. In addition, this is what my cabbage looks like.

The soup was delicious. Baby cauliflower leaves sound like a gourmet treat.

I guess the squirrels thought so too.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 8:01 pm

    My husband needs a shirt like that. He has been “at war” with the squirrels for years…..and he NEVER wins. I laugh at him. He comes in with a brilliant idea that will solve THE DAMN SQUIRREL problem but…….NEVER does it work and he was a brilliant puzzle solver at work…..nature humbles……nice to see you back into the paint Martha.

    • October 13, 2011 7:36 am

      Karin Lynn, I’m very convinced that we will never win when it comes to squirrels. They are more brilliant problem solvers than we are I think!

  2. October 12, 2011 9:09 pm

    The damn squirrels are digging up freshly planted bulbs and leaving trails of fruit and tomatoes along the fence. Could be signs of a cold hard winter.

    • October 13, 2011 7:36 am

      You know Lottie, I hadn’t thought of that. Could be. This didn’t happen to my garden last year and I know there were plenty of the varmints around.

  3. October 14, 2011 9:57 am

    Sounds as though it’s time for roasted squirrel. Sorry, I’m not available to join you that night 😉

    I think we are due for a long had winter here. The berries are super-abundant on the hedgerows. I don’t do well when it’s cold.

    Looking forward to seeing the progression of the picture.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

