Skip to content

From Above – Collage with Weathered and Hand Painted Papers

October 11, 2011

From Above - Collage, 8x8"

This is today’s collage. I am really enjoying the new painted magazine pages. The black and white passage in the center is from an advertisement for glass architectural tiles. It has been painted over with strokes of Titan Buff and incorporated into the overall collage of hand painted papers. The very textural pink and white piece is from my collection of weathered papers.

Squirrel Wars Update

I continue to battle the juvenile delinquent squirrels in my cabbage bed. I think I’m losing.

 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2011 9:52 pm

    I’m really enjoying your magazine page collages Martha! I love how different elements from the pages peek through your paint markings. Very pretty!

    LOL! I’m sorry to laugh but your stories about the squirrel delinquents are too funny. We have tons of squirrels where we live and I hadn’t even thought about what they could do to destroy a garden. Now I know that if I do plant some container veges that I’ll have to figure out a way to keep the squirrels out. If you find a way to keep them away from your veges please share with us all! 🙂

    • October 12, 2011 5:44 am

      Thank you, Itaya! Glad you are enjoying the collages. I’ll definitely let you know what happens with the squirrels. I hope some of them grow up and leave home.

  2. October 11, 2011 11:31 pm

    I really like this piece Martha. I like the balance of texture and clean lines of the architectural tiles. I like that you left part of the tile image dark (original?), this part really pops in a strong yet graceful way, providing a nice contrast to the painted tile area which then drops back. I like the balance of the big pieces of paper in this composition. I love that it’s messy and eloquent at the same time. I think this is my favorite piece yet! xo

    • October 12, 2011 5:46 am

      Thank you for that very thoughtful description, Latifah. I’m pleased that you like this one.

  3. October 12, 2011 6:49 am

    This is a brillant piece of mixed media. Beautiful textures and colours, and a great composition. Well done!

  4. October 12, 2011 9:34 am

    I think the squares in your artwork are hinting at a jail for the squirrels. We have raccoon problems here, and trap them and give them to a local coon dog training group. Since the internet has answers to all things, I looked up the problem to see if I could help. However, the consensus is that they win!

    If you have a moment, look at this site http://www.whyy.org/91FM/ybyg/squirrels.html for a giggle.

    Keep creating beautiful art, it will keep you sane.

    • October 12, 2011 4:40 pm

      I love that article, Caroline! I think the art is going to be my only salvation at this point. Thanks so much for your help and research!

  5. October 12, 2011 9:43 am

    Oh, this one is wonderful! Love the dusty pink and the textures.

  6. October 14, 2011 9:58 am

    A very well-balanced piece. I like it.

I love getting your comments, so please don't be shy! Your feedback is valued.

